Erlen Meyer
Erlen Meyer

Shortly before recording this album, Erlen Meyer‘s drummer, Romain Djoudi, was killed in a motorcycle accident. The remaining band members’ feelings of anger and grief became direct inspiration during the subsequent recording of this harrowing album.

Erlen Meyer play a heavy, dissonant brand of sludgy post-hardcore in the vein of Overmars and later-era Breach, a style of music perfectly suited to their rage. An atmosphere of unrest and darkness hangs like a fog throughout the album and provides the necessary context for the powerful dirges. The vocals are of the mid-range hardcore bark variety, although there are several spoken-interlude sections (all in French, again reminiscent of Overmars) and they sometimes reach into higher-pitched black metal shrieks, as at the fantastic end of “Agatha.” The throaty yells are full of passion and perfectly reflect the band’s intensity.

The mid-paced sludge riffs get a little samey after a while, but what they lack in variety they make up for in passion. A couple of short instrumental tracks also help break up the monotony somewhat, providing brief intermissions between the lengthy compositions.

This is a surprisingly emotional, dark work, fraught with genuine anger that does not let up throughout its duration. I haven’t heard their previous recordings from 2005-6, but I would be interested to see what Erlen Meyer come up with in the future, even if they aren’t able to recapture the same raw power that this record emanates.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by J. D. Anderson
February 26th, 2014


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Korpse - Insufferable Violence
  • Incursion - The Hunter EP
  • Sarvekas - Of Atavistic Fury & Visions EP
  • Marasmus - Necrotic Overlord
  • Aylwin - The Arch Holder
  • GWAR - Scumdogs of The Nniverse 30th Anniversary Remix
  • Old Growth - Mossweaver
  • Frozen Soul - Crypt of ice
  • Buried - Oculus Rot
  • Wolves Den - Miserere
  • Evil - Possessed By Evil
  • Hulder - Godslastering: Hymns of a Forlorn Peasantry
  • Yoth Iria - As The Flame Withers
  • Harakiri For The Sky - Mære
  • Gatecreeper - An Unexpected Reality EP