Well this was a nice surprise.

Hailing from the Netherlands, newcomers Expulsion display some pretty serious chops on their debut full length Wasteworld. Combining elements of black and death into a ripping and technically stunning thrash assault, Wasteworld is a relentless beast from beginning to end.

With mostly short and concise tracks, the songs on Wasteworld are to the point and tight as a nun’s ass, skipping any unnecessary extenedd wanking sessions that dominates the songs of so many similar bands. After brief instrumental opener, the album gets underway proper with the scorching “Land of Empty Graves” and doesn’t give an inch through album closer “Re-Examination”. Sharp, melodic edged riffs rule the bands sound, accompanied by savage double bass, blasts, impressive fills, and vocals ranging from a slightly blackened rasp to a lower growl and the occasional clean part.

On the downside, my one minor gripe is the songs all tend to run together and can be a bit samey, though this isn’t really a problem with the relatively brief playing time of the album (35 minutes) – by the time you reach the end, you should ready for another round. After a few repeat spins though, little nuances begin to work themselves out of the mix, such as the short breaks found in “Martyr” where they ease off the peddle just a little to introduce a bit more melody, the absolutely frantic energy of “Police State Tranquility”, or an explosive and catchy riff such as the opening of “Promise Never Made”.

Completed by a crisp but not overly slick production, the end result of Wasteworld is a pretty satisfying one that begs for re-spins. Expulsion have proven to be an excellent addition to the tech thrash world, and are highly recommended to all fans of the genre.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Larry "Staylow" Owens
October 26th, 2009


  1. Commented by: gabaghoul

    review did its job – made me want to check these guys out – great stuff! reminds me of when Dissection used to not suck

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu