Exploitative Practices

I had no idea New York’s awesome Mortician finally released an album after all these years…..oh wait…this is not Mortician????  Fluids-what the hell??  New to the scene, forming in 2018 from Arizona, Walter Hale on Drums/Synths/Programming, Jan Grotle on Guitar/Bass and Cole Jacobsen on Vocals, this trio of stoolbags have put out their debut Exploitative Practices, which just fucking owns.

You want goregrind done right, in the true Mortician spirit-then look no further.  On the outstanding Maggot Stomp label, this album destroys and even features a guest vocal appearance by Matti Way (Liturgy, Abominable Putridity etc)on the first 2 songs so you know the songs crush even extra.  The soundbites throughout this album, are all real and not sampled from horror movies.  Very twisted shit.

After a very disturbing intro, “Caught” cums blasting through your speakers with a very slow song, which will have you smiling ear to ear with the Mortician inspired fuzzy bass guitar sound-so freaking awesome.  This song is so heavy it opened up sinkholes inside of stinkholes across the nation.  “Shot” is up next and is an excerpt from a real life police arrest gone horribly wrong.  The programmed drum machine actually sounds pretty decent. On some of the grind blasts it may sound a little grating, but the holy shit groove part at the 1.30 part will have you and Matti Way bulldozer neighborhoods and turn them into cardboard boxes and create people falling out of their office buildings, like yesterday’s trash.  Monster gutturals and again going right into the slow section is perfect.

One of Mortician’s greatest songs was “Slaughterhouse” and I swear Fluids does a spot on take of it with “Hauled”.  The beginning is identical to the classic Mortician song, with the fuzzy bass and then right into that mid—paced riff that will have you lopping heads off from here to your Grandma’s house.  Fluids is crushing it by this point and this is just perfect brutality-not many bands are as heavy as these dudes.  Then the song picks up monster blast beats across the wall.  Then right into the dirge slow-down that has Scott “They Don’t call me Rotor Rooter for Nuthin” Magrath two-stepping to the post office then right to Chipotle afterwards.  The song eventually has some ridiculous computerized double bass thrown in that is the fastest programmed double bass ever recorded-no joke.  It’s so nuts and awesome at the same time.

“Seared” has some more Mortician worship going on and this song sounds, like “Slaughterhouse”, could have been on Hacked Up For Barbecue.  Some brutally heavy with super and I mean super inhumane guttural vocals that call to mind the awesome Squash Bowels from Poland.

Exploitative Practices is creatively thrown together.  10 songs in just under 30” and the one word song titles actually tell a story.  I liken it to what a serial killer would first do once the victim is captured until the eventual corpse disposal.  So say each song title and you will see what I mean-it’s actually pretty freaking genius, if you ask me and makes it even more disturbing when you throw in those actual real recorded clips, which are sprinkled throughout the album.  The clips are enhancements and never detract from the songs.

The cd layout is simple, no lyrics or anything.  The album production is louder than your voice echoing through the Grand Canyon saying REEEECCCOOOLLLAHHHHHH!  In terms of a true grindcore album, which encompasses some death metal, as well and goregrind Exploitative Practices was the best album last year in that category-it’s not even close.  Fluids have a bright future ahead of them and I have been listening to this album non-stop.  Buy or Die!!


[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
January 10th, 2020


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu