From Dying Suns

Canada keeps kicking out sick releases in 2024. Quebec’s From Dying Suns return with their first LP Calamity. This band features members of: Augury, Killotorious and Aeternam. Matthew Dhani, the vocalist of Killotorious is also the live vocalist for First Fragment. It is also worth noting that Christian Donaldson of Cryptopsy mixed this.

Calamity is inspired by old school video games like Castlevania and Ghost and Goblins. Without even listening to this yet I was extremely intrigued based on the details mentioned prior. “Reverie” opens things up and is a nice harmonious almost ninety-second instrumental build. The guitar work of Mathieu Roy-Lortie and Maxime Rochefort is already all over the place with intricate chromatic runs. Mathieu Dhani’s vocal range is all over the place on the title track “Calamity.”  They do an excellent job segueing from the first into the second track. Antoine Baril’s groovy drum work is on point throughout the whole album. I enjoy that this is not a blast beat fest.

“Turn Undead” reminds me a little bit of Voivod and has a bit of a fusion jazz vibe in the beginning. The lead work on this one would make Marty Friedman blush. I will have to check out their debut EP Transcending Flesh to see the growth between EP and LP. The bass work of Christian Pacaud is outstanding. “Claustrophobic” with a death and roll Motorhead intro and then the tempo picks up. The lead work is top-notch throughout all of Calamity. I sometimes wonder what is in the water in Canada that keeps helping to produce such impressive bands.

“Gehenna” is one of my favorite tracks on the album and opens with a cold effect on the drums before going into a bit of Meshuggah-like djent part, a thrash part, and then a harmony melody. It is hard to keep track of all the unique styles they throw at you in each arrangement.

“Vereor Nox” reminds me a bit of Lamb of God and is the first song on the record with blasts. The bass playing of Christian Pacaud is strong on this track as well. “Respite” opens with a nice-sounding acoustic guitar piece that eventually gets added to with synth and bass. “Undergrowth” opens with a fury of blasts and melody before kicking into a fun groovy verse. “Reclamation” is up next and might be the heaviest track on the album. “Ascent” might be the most progressive of the songs on Calamity.

“Ruination” finishes the LP and much like the rest of the album is full of catchy riffs and fantastic musicianship. I cannot speak highly of this album. Another amazing band from Canada with a fantastic first full-length release. Check it out.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
May 16th, 2024


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing