Genghis Tron
Cloak of Love EP

I could (and most likely will) spend this whole review going down the laundry list of elements that Genghis Tron pile on a dangerously teetering table for your amusement and distraction (Grindcore, 80’s Hip-hop, Shred, Porn soundtrack funk, post-hardcore, gabber….) on this 5 song introduction to their fucked-up little world; but suffice it to say that this is a post-modern musical collage, which constantly creates and sheds unique atmosphere like the cloak in their album title. One moment a ripping lead busts out of an adult-contemporary rock, elsewhere a early video game theme whispers under a crushing sludge metal pile-on.

Utilizing drum- machines, keyboards, theremin, lap steel, and (gasp!) an electric guitar, Genghis Tron nonetheless manage to create a real base heaviness that you wouldn’t expect given the ingredients in this heady broth especially when the mix flows seamlessly from mind-funking screamy speed bursts to stark, thumping beats. There is almost not a moment or era from the last 30+ years of rock music in all its manifest forms (extreme or otherwise) missing here. Run-DMC bumps heads with Necrophagist on one track, sappy 80’s pop harmonies tangle with electronic black metal in raver hell elsewhere. Somehow this is all held together by some twisted sanity which through the use of a wide-open consciousness of the dynamics of space, manages to turn these frenetic exercises in unlimited creativity into something resembling cohesive and unique songs.

I can see where the musical ideas brought to life on this brief recording could provoke accusations of silliness from some and even outright offend others. The later would be those genre purists of whom even the most open-minded to diverse musical styles would argue for ‘a place for everything and everything in it’s place”. Cloak of Love gives a new chaotic meaning to that old cliche as literally, everything is in place here barring the two or three musical genres left out (where’s the country and opera””), which seem to be casualties of the brevity of this recording and not any intentional exclusion on the band’s part. For those who have an ear for the innovative, a ridiculously short attention span or a life-long dream of listening to all their CD’s at the same time, this quick and quirky little fella is manna from heaven.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by John Gnesin
March 19th, 2005


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu