Intermediate Level Hard-Core EP

EPs are usually a fun time to quickly jam through some new material. If the EP sucks, it’ll be over in no time. However, in the case of Ghoul’s Intermediate Level Hardcore, it’s one of the best ways to kill about eight minutes and not ever worry about getting them back. Ghoul has always been a fun-as-hell throwback to oldschool crossover hardcore/thrash, and with this latest EP they’ve taken a little bit of time out of their lives to pay homage to some of the best from back in the day.

Rocking only five songs, Ghoul kills it with terrific renditions of some obscure classics from years past. The EP kicks things off with a wicked version of GWAR’s vintage classic “Americanized” complete with guest vocals by none other than GWAR mainman Oderus Urungus. From there, the trio rips into a sinister rendition of Fearless Iranians From Hell’s “Blow Up the Embassy”, a punishing cover of “E.M.S.&D.” from Willful Neglect, followed by a solid take on “Propaganda Control” from N.O.T.A., and then capping off the release with their version of Dayglo Abortions’ “Proud to be Creepsylvanian”.

Obviously, EPs that clock in at under ten minutes that are filled with only cover songs don’t need to be extrapolated on too much. Intermediate Level Hardcore seems to be just keeping Ghoul busy until they unleash their next full-length release. Luckily for all who will listen, this EP isn’t filled with crummy live versions or throwaway B-sides. Instead, it’s a fun and vicious short player that won’t disappoint anybody, considering who Ghoul are and what they’ve always done.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Mike Sloan
October 10th, 2013


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death