Inner Supremacy

Just when you think a band has thought of all the ways to use the word gor(e), along comes yet another new iteration that will surprise you, this one by way of the band Gorgatron and their late 2014 second album, Inner Supremacy. Now at first I thought it was a long lost member of The Transformers toys/TV show (you young people will need to look them up), but after hitting the Googles it looks like it’s actually a character from the Aqua Teen Hunger Force show/video game (or something like that, look it up if the curiosity is killing you). Either way it’s a pretty cool name even if it’s not one that they thought of themselves.

What kills me about this album is that after spinning it multiple times, it’s an awesome, crushingly groovy death metal album, but the production fat out sucks MASSIVE ballsack. I only bring it up so early because it’s that much of a game killer. What’s odd is the first few tracks actually seem to have a bit of punch to the bass drums, but by the time the title track (and the best track on the album) comes along the bottom end (what little there was) seems to have disappeared. The guitars are razor thin and the bass guitar… wait… what? There’s a bass guitar in this band? Yes, but it’s harder to find than Jimmy Hoffa’s body.

All that being said, this quartet from Fargo, North Dakota, of all places (great movie by the way) plays a Dying Fetus/Suffocation style of lurching, head-banging death metal. You get some furious blasts and catchy grooves, along with an awesome death growl from vocalist Karl “Rice Grinder” Schmidt. The riffs are nice but again carry no weight at all in the mix. Needless to say drummer Matt Johnson is the only instrument on here that can be heard very well, but again if this whole album was remastered (was it even “mastered” in the first place?) I could see this being one of the best obscure death albums of last year. And the guys don’t seem to take themselves too seriously either as you can see from the video below.

No need to spend a lot of time on this one. Check it out as there’s a lot to like here for an independent band and you can hear the beast lurking below the thin ice production, just be prepared to crank the volume way above normal and turn up your subwoofer as it’s needed to add any sonic punch to this one.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Kevin E
April 22nd, 2015


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal
  • Dauþuz - Uranium
  • Fluids - Reduced Capabilities
  • The Headless Ghost - King Of Pain