Gory Blister
Reborn From Hatred

Technical Death Metal Italians Gory Blister returns with the 7th full length.  The album kicks off with a cool synth intro into some thrashy riffing over aggressive blasting.  Reminds me of a cross between Vader and Hate Eternal.  “Push through the Venom” gets things kicked off after a fun short intro.   The production is quite impressive as the drum and guitar mix are balanced.  “Relentless Fear” continues along the lines of the previous track, and has a march to its vibe.  Most of the tracks on the album around three to four minutes. “Profound Sedation” opens with a nice bass break before going into a rock tumbler of a thrash section.

For the most part through the first part of the album, Reborn from Hatred flows quickly. “This Blood is Forever” is a good space filler instrumental.   The title track “Reborn Through Hatred’ is next.  It has a bit of a similar vibe to “Unexpected Livings” before things pick up a bit.   This song has a slight black metal tinge. It is interesting how these song arrangements go from straightforward riffing to more intricate patterns.  For a three-piece that has been around since 1991 you can tell these guys have worked at their craft for a good deal of time.    “Signs From Beyond” has some of the best lead work on the album.

The sense of melody that these Italians have is quite on point towards the end of the record. “Generation Ship” also has some killer solos.   The album ends with an instrumental outro which is kind of a spacey synth deal to wrap up the album.   It ends like it starts.

Reborn from Hatred is not a bad album at all.  I think the more technical parts stick out from track to track.  There may not be much on this album that is reinventing the wheel, but it is a solid album and worth checking out.  I am going to have to go back and revisit their whole catalog since they have been around for over 30 years.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
October 26th, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon
  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge