What would you expect from a super group that comprises of vocalist T. Roy Medlin (Sourvein), bassist Dixie Dave Collins (Weedeater), guitarist Vince Burke (Beaten Back To Pure) and drummer Erik Larson (Alabama Thunderpussy)? If you said ultra sludgy, rumbling, doomy Southern drenched girth, then you would be right.

Even with the tangible influences from the members other bands, this should also appeal to fans of the doomy, sludgy hardcore that abundant now (Black Cobra, Blutch, Negative Reaction, Black Elk, etc). With a typically fuzzed out and muddy yet thunderous guitar tone, Hail!Hornet is a loping, foray into swampy angst and whiskey fueled, plodding self loathing.

A few of the tracks are more up-tempo and angry such as “Golden Whore”, “Drunk Tank”, “Foxy Fuck/ No Solution” and moments of “Devils Hound”, but otherwise Hail!Hornet deliver throaty, raspy dirges of “Believe in Black”, “Nerves”, heaving “He Who Walks Behind the Rose Bros.”, sneering “Concussion Conspiracy” and epically salty closer “Swarm of Malice” are oppressive, saturating tracks of down-tuned gnarly sludge core that will drain you of any remotely positive feelings or self esteem.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by E. Thomas
October 16th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. Your post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and maybe held up for further approval. We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Annihilator - Ballistic, Sadistic
  • Hell:On/Pripjat - A Glimpse Beyond (Split)
  • Silvertomb - Edge of Existence
  • Necropanther - The Doomed City
  • Lorna Shore - Immortal
  • Ian Blurton Future Now - Signals Through the Flames
  • Voice of Ruin - Acheron
  • Inverted Matter - Detach
  • Marrasmieli - Between Land and Sky
  • Infirmity - Descendants of Sodom
  • Cryptic Brood - Outcome of Obnoxious Science
  • Visceral Disgorge - Slithering Evisceration
  • Psychomancer - Shards of the Hourglass
  • Infidel Reich - Reichenstein
  • Brothers of Metal - Embla's Saga