There are defining moments in history when you will always remember where you were when it happened; Pearl Harbor, the Berlin Wall coming down, JFK’s assassination, the release of Scandinavian Metal Attack. This short 36 minute album was written in 2004 as a tribute to Bathory but did not get recorded until now.

Lord Sargofagian of Baptism performs guest drum duty and Corvus and Shatraug work their magic once again, these three have black metal in their DNA. With more than 30 official releases to their credit, the Finnish horde needs no introduction. As we all know there are thousands of Bathory worshiping bands out there, so what makes this one stand out? For one thing this is lawnmower driven Bathory metal, only pre-Viking material is the reference point. There are no cover songs, no rip-off riffs, just impassioned vocals, bass lines that make your skin crawl and a dynamic intensity that is sorely lacking in the efforts of mere pretenders.

Songs like “Verimalja” and “Sotahuuto” are trance inducing. You find yourself rocking to the rhythm and chanting the unholy mantra, “A sorcery written in blood, Whispered by a Witch in the dawn, Summon the darkness pure evil and death, And gather the legions of scorn…” It’s all in Finnish but that is what I imagine Corvus singing. Key songs are the title track, “Sotahuuto,” now there is your ‘evil’ voice, juxtaposed with shrieks of insanity, and “Tuhontuoja” with killer shrieks and roars, powerful riffs, and a slightly unsteady rollicking pace that reminds me as much of Envaatnags Eflos Solf Esgantaavne as of Quorthon. You do not have to listen past the opening track, “Lähtölaukaus” to understand how effortlessly Horna captures that throwback feel, just sit back and listen to the masters.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Grimulfr
March 27th, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Embryonic Autopsy - Origins of the Deformed
  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream