Industry EP

Considering the amount of stuff we get sent to review, you’d better be pretty good to be an independent Polish industrial/cyber death metal band and your 6 song demo EP gets my attention enough to warrant a review. It’s also lucky that I haven’t heard any really good rushing cyber death metal in a long time and Hyperial deliver the goods in pretty impressive fashion.

Like country mates Hate or Crionics, Hyperial deliver high octane, tight death Polish death metal with a cyber injection. That’s to say the death metal is chunky, fast and furious as hell and its littered with all sorts of cybernetic and industrial beeps, whirrs and other futuristic samples and synths. Both elements are done extremely well, especially the death metal, which without the cyber sheen would still have been pretty impressive (and reminds me of newer Aborted as well as their Polish peers at times).  Throw in the requisite chunky cyber guitar tone, gruff vocals and just a few moments of passive futuristic atmospherics and Hyperial are certainly a band to wathc for in the genre.

The EP is 6 tracks, 5 of which are full songs as “MMXII-MMXXX” is the old instrumental number. And each of the 5 songs is pretty darn impressive as they are rendered with a very strong, typically chunky, mechanical production that’s as good as any of their label signed peers. From blistering opener “Of Concrete and Ash Age”,  through “Rotted Society”, the title track and bruising closer “The Eternal Paradise of Illusion” Hyperial  deliver a borderline relentless cyber assault, but reign things in just enough breaks and segues not to get repetitive.

If so called cyber metal like Sybreed and Mnemnic are too soft and djent-y and you prefer your cyber metal more punishing and more like The Amenta, Total Devastation or Scorngrain then Hyperial should be just the ticket for your cyber death metal fix.

Good stuff.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
November 5th, 2012


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death