In Grief
Deserted Soul

There’s no real way to lead into it, so I’ll just jump right in. In Grief sounds like a blend of Daylight Dies and Evergrey. It combines some of the darker Prog Metal of Evergrey (the soundscape/sci-fi keys, the fluid-like guitar shredding) with some of the slower, more dramatic dirges of Daylight Dies (complete with the combo growl/clean vocals). Now, depending on your view of these two bands, you’ll either be interested or turned off (the one-sheet predictably names Opeth as well, but that doesn’t really apply)…but suffice it to say I think it’s a cool combo. Sorry to put that up so early on, but it’s really the best way to sum it up.

The instrumentation, arrangements, performances & production are all very good. Everything sounds tight and clean and is fairly impressive to listen to. No one part is in and of itself anything really new, but when the parts interchange and swirl together, I think they come up with something interesting. The vocals, as stated, switch between a deep rooted Death growl and a more subdued clean, non-operatic tone ala Opeth’s Michael Akerfeldt. There are plenty of strong, head-thrashing moments as well as some nice atmosphere added in the form of slower tempos, keyboard layers and guitar counter melodies. “In The End” is a pretty good example of all of the band’s elements coming together in a single song. The obligatory intro track leads into “I Am” which, in all honesty, could have done without the nearly three-minute introduction. “I Am”, however, really sets up the album and lets the listener know in no uncertain terms what they’re in for. The refrain on the title track is very Katatonia-like in its monotone, depressive delivery.

So, what we have is 6 songs (plus an intro) of strong Metal music. I hear both a currently impressive band as well as lots of room for future expansion. It’s an enjoyable listen for anyone into the Scandinavian Death/Prog/moody vibe with enough of its own personality not to blend in too much. Give it a shot.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shawn Pelata
April 7th, 2009


  1. Commented by: gordeth

    I came across these guys recently and I think your description is dead-on. I’m really digging their death/doom meets prog/melodeath style. They sound modern but something about them also reminds me of early 90’s avant-garde death/doom a la early Crematory or Phlebotomized. I’ll be picking this up very soon.

  2. Commented by: Erik Thomas

    These guys are on Bombworks- are they Christian?

  3. Commented by: Redstar

    I am going to check these guys out. The band name is a little weak I think.

  4. Commented by: John

    WOW!!!! This band is really sick!
    Everything is perfect in my ears…I like the name also.
    The vocals are very impressive, the cleanvocal too!
    I will order this album NOOOOW!

  5. Commented by: elguerosinfe

    Really promising – thanks for the review.

  6. Commented by: Shawn Pelata

    Erik – they may be, but nothing stands out in a “beat you over the head” kinda way…the lyrics are fairly vague from what I can recall…

  7. Commented by: David

    Hi, everyone! Thanks for the review.
    I am the vocalist in In Grief, and I write the lyrics.
    In Grief`s lyrics are based on my christian belief, but also on my political stand. We have members that are not christian, but as long as I write the lyrics it will be based on what I stand for.

    Blessings everyone, and I hope you all will like the album!!


  8. Commented by: Robert Sweet

    Good drumming by the way..
    Agree with Shawn Pelata about the lyrics.. That they are fairly vague.. From a christian point of view.

  9. Commented by: elguerosinfe

    Is this out yet? The label says April 7 but i can’t find it anywhere.

  10. Commented by: Bruno

    just to mention some.
    Greetings from In Grief

  11. Commented by: David

    The CD is available many places.
    Just search In Grief Deserted Soul in Google.

  12. Commented by: MetalFRO

    Cool review. I’ll be doing a review of this for my blog at some point soon. Great album!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu