In Twilight's Embrace

Apparently a lot has happened in the 12 or so years since reviewed this Polish band’s debut, Buried in Between, a decent At The Gates ish metalcore/melodeath record.

There’s been a lineup shuffle, and more importantly over the band’s 3 albums since the debut, these guys have evolved into solid death/black metal act and now on 2018s Lawa, (based on the Polish poem “Dziady” by Adam Mickiewicz and its psychedelic movie rendition “Lawa” by Tadeusz Konwicki),  In Twilight’s Embrace appear to have found their final style: a moody form of modern atmospheric black metal akin to the likes of Downfall of Gaia, Deluge, Celeste  and such with hints of death metal.

That said, opening track ” Zaklęcie” starts with a steady introductory rumble that does little to belie the bands shift. It’s not until second track ” Dziś wzywają mnie podziemia” the band unfurls the darker tones and gruff vocals, with even some clever layered (and reoccurring) vocal effects, that provide a haunting backdrop. After the more tempered almost 6 minute track “Krew”, “Pełen czerni” delivers more blackened furor, with some nice ambient injections and bridges that keep things a little off kilter.

“Ile trwa czas ” has hints of the band’s debit with a more melodic. metalcore- ish march, but with the band’s new found grittier, darker guitar tone. Then the 6 +minute closer ” Żywi nieumarli ” ends things with a nice blend of everything, including a really nice galloping melodic black metal riff to close the album out on a pretty damn good note.


[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
January 29th, 2019


  1. Commented by: Jay

    This is actually really cool stuff. Your review drew me in and I’m into the posted track a good deal! If they were once At the Gates worship, they sure expanded on that here.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP