Internal Suffering
Cyclonic Void of Power

This has been a busy year for Unique leader Records with releases like First Fragment, The Zenith Passage, Inanimate Existence, Lord of War, Deceptionist, Destroying the Devoid and Carnophage. With as chaotic as their summer release schedule it would be quite easy to have missed out on this one.

Woah! This one of definitely a rager! Formerly from Colombia and now resided in Madrid Spain Internal Suffering have a pummeling release of super technical brutal death metal with Cyclonic Void of Power.  This is Internal Suffering’s 5th full length and first full length since 2006.  The album opens up “Unleash the Antarctic Colossus (Prevail in the Universe with Crowning Might.. Kadeth is the Vortex!)” Which opening up with ferocious blast beats and aggressive tempo changes. It sounds like there is a lot of influence from older Origin.  There are a lot of similar triplet guitar chugs and riff structures that remind of Origin’s Informis Infinitas Inhumanitas.  That is in no ways a bad thing.  “Omnipotent Triumvirate” continues with pummeling blast beats and augmented chords that remind me a bit of Hate Eternal.  The one builds up to a sweet break beat down section later in the song that could induce a nasty circle pit. Fabio Marin’s vocal work has a bite and bark that bellows and ties the room in together for forty one minutes.  Fabio Ramirez’s drumming is sick and his ability to shuffle different blast beat and double kick tempos throughout is impressive.

Song structure wise the longest track on Cyclonic Void of Power is around five minutes.  Internal suffering do an excellent job of sticking to a song writing structure that makes sense for the speeds and tempo changes they put into each track. “Monumental Crusade” is my favorite track.  This particular tune reminds me a bit of older Unmerciful. Production wise this isn’t the cleanest sounding Unique Leader release but I think the recording values on this album definitely do Internal Suffering justice.  All of the instruments are balanced in the mix and nothing really sounds buried. This is definitely a concept album and it would be difficult not to see the H.P Lovecraft influence all of over this release.

“Dimensions of The Wicked” has a strong Deeds of Flesh vibe in terms of the way the opening riffs have a similar catchiness and feel that remind me a bit of Deeds of Flesh’s Path of The Weakening album. Michel Tarzona’s fretboard work is scathingly lead clean and precise. For their just being one guitarist on this group the guitars sound quite thick and pronounced throughout. Some very sick lead work on this track as well. Internal Suffering pull off something with Cyclonic Void Of Power that a lot of death metal bands struggle with which is the balance of brutal and technicality. There is a ferocity and vigor to each track on this release that at times can feel like blunt force trauma.  Even though it has been ten years since there last release Internal Suffering are as brutal as ever and this one will continue in my rotation for a while.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
September 22nd, 2016


  1. Commented by: E. Thomas

    Got a bit of an early kataklysm vibe with the chaos in the music and vocals. nice

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Todesstoss - Das Liebweh-Dekret
  • Embryonic Autopsy - Origins of the Deformed
  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound