The Shadowland (Reissue)

Inverted were a Swedish death metal band who released 2 full-length albums in the 90’s. Long out of print, Marquee Records brings us an excellent sounding reissue of Inverted’s debut album, The Shadowland. Originally released in 1996, The Shadowland has a lot of good elements. I remember hearing about them years ago, but this is the first time I’ve actually heard them. Their sound is a mix of Hypocrisy’s first 2, and best albums and early Deicide.

Opener, “Diabolical Ceremonies”, is fast and furious, with tons of blast beats and gruff vocals sounding like early Hypocrisy. Guitars are trebly sounding and in some spots a bit on the thin side. It may have something to do more with the lack of a heavy bass guitar presence on the record.
“Condemned” is up next with killer mid-paced riffing, great guitar melodies, some atmosphere and very catchy. Great blasting which takes me back to the first 2 Deicide albums. Again, killer vocals which, while deep, you can understand the lyrics. “Journey into Shadowland” has a classic 90’s death metal beat opening up the song and more death/thrashing beats permeate the song. Excellent melodic passage at the 1.13 part before going into a European melo-death mid-paced part then erupting into a vicious blast beat section. The mid-paced part returns with killer guitar riffing, before returning to the excellent opening death metal classic beat. More dual guitar melodies await with a great slower section. The song erupts back into the vicious blast, trailing off with the mid-paced section.

Inverted’s The Shadowland is an excellent death metal album. Released in 1996, right when the death metal scene was shifting in sound and spirit. It could be why this gem was overlooked a bit. It’s fast, brutal and memorable, but with quality songs. Above average musicianship and nice song structures. All the parts flow really well. Inverted were not attempting to out-brutal all the bands. They had their fair share of brutality, however they mixed in some atmospheric moments and melodic parts, which resulted in a dynamic and not one dimensional sounding album. Marquee Records, I know, tried tracking the band down, but since they’re broken up, found it difficult get any real info on the band. There is the added bonus track: “Across the Lake of Flames”, which is killer.

The booklet is sparse, no lyrics, but a band photo is included, as well as the cool album cover and inner artwork. The entire cd tray is layed out excellently. Mr. Sidney Sohn Jr. provides The Shadowland with a new and upgraded master. Album sounds crisp and cuts right through you. Again the album has a bit of a thin production, which can only be cleaned up through a remix. But overall the remaster makes this sound kick ass. Inverted’s The Shadowland should certainly be in your collection if you were entrenched on the 90’s death metal brutality sounds, it’s an awesome album.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
June 29th, 2018


  1. Commented by: Jay

    I remember this stuff. A friend had to burn them for me. Saw ’em at a CD Warehouse one time but I was hellbent on finally putting the Gates of Ishtar albums in my collection and some wise soul snapped them up by the time I came back. Dug those burners but lost ’em. Glad they are reissue, cause this is good shit!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Stellar Remains - Wastelands EP
  • Acrid Death - Abominable Presence of Blight
  • Apparition - Fear the Apparition
  • Morta Skuld - Creation Undone
  • House of Atreus - Orations EP
  • Spectral Voice - Sparagmos
  • Hellman - Born, Suffering, Death
  • Blood Red Throne - Nonagon
  • Hulder - Verses In Oath
  • Ghoul - Noxious Concoctions EP
  • Chaos Sanctuary - Instrumentality
  • Mega Colossus - Showdown
  • Mind Conflict - Temple of God
  • Necrowretch - Swords of Dajjal
  • Wolves of Perdition - Ultra-Violence