Blood Red Victory

Andrew D’Cagna is in many bands (Nechochwen, Brimstone Coven, Icarus Witch, Unwilling Flesh etc) out of Ohio and seems to be some sort of musical maestro genius.  With Ironflame he plays all the instruments and also sings.  He does have an actual live line-up, but in terms of putting out the three Ironflame albums, Lightning Strikes the Crown in 2017, Tales of Splendor and Sorrow in 2018 and this years Blood Red Victory – the man does it all again.  The band came on my radar earlier in the year and I then got the rest of the discography.  If you’re a fan of NWOBHM mixed in with massive amounts of Power Metal – think early Helloween, even some Chastain and early Fates Warning – then this band is for you.  I love power metal and even cheesy power metal bands, however Ironflame never get into cheese territory at all.  Blood Red Victory is 8 songs in 40 minutes.  The physical edition has 2 bonus extra songs.

“Gates of Evermore” gets things started in a fast paced power metal/even speed metal territory if you will.  The riff is outstanding and Andrew’s vocals are excellent.  He sings in a variety of tones.  Has the perfect power metal voice and he sounds very similar to Michael Kiske on the Keeper of the Seven Keys albums – absolutely brilliant.  A lot of classic Iron Maiden riffage going on and then really super up with the speed moments.  Excellent guitar solos and then the catchy melodic power metal riffing comes in and over the super catchy chorus, this is one of the best songs of 2020 -easily.  “Honor Bound” starts almost as “Victim of Fate” from Helloween.  The opening riff almost seems as an homage to the legendary song.  Phenomenal dual guitars – wonderful mix to capture the main riff and the second guitar track with the melodies.  You completely forget you’re listening to a 1 band band.  Ironflame never sounds like a 1 main act – never, not any of their prior awesome albums.  The song goes back n forth with the faster moments and mid-paced moments – never devoid of melody.

The title track has a very epic opening guitar riff where you just want to pound your fist and metal horns in the air and the head banging beat is contagious.  I can’t but bob my head to this song constantly.  Some awesome Bruce Dickinson vocal parts and then the melodic riffing and main riff is just phenomenal.  The song remains in this mid-paced slower epic style for its entire duration and it’s like christ each song is better than the next – how can this be.  “Grace and Valor“ has more melody and some monster double bass moments and the song, just like all the others, has monster guitar hooks and some real nice bass guitar moments on this.  The rhythm section over the double bass is a thing of beauty.  “On Ashen Wings” is another super fast power metal number equipped with monster guitar hooks and excellent vocals.  “Night Queen” ends the album and has a catchy chorus.  More of a melodic, ballad number.  Still very good, more of a whimper of an end, as opposed to the entire album, but the chorus-damn so catchy.

Ironflame’s Blood Red Victory may very well turn out to be the best metal album to come out of Ohio all year – I have no idea – many great albums in this sector of the country this year.  This is pure metal through and through and enough power metal to knock you on your ass and wrap your head inside out.  This is the catchiest album for 2020 with a production that captures the musical essence and phenomenal quality of this special band.  This sits alongside great with their 2 prior awesome albums.  I am so happy to have Ironflame in my collection and they are one of the finest current power metal bands out there – I mean each song has severe catchiness – so look out.  Blood Red Victory is an easy Buy or Die!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
September 24th, 2020


  1. Commented by: J. Mays

    Andrew lives like 10 minutes away from me and I’ve never actually met him. I have a couple of his albums, but no Ironflame… yet.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Mutilation Barbecue  - Amalgamations of Gore
  • Atrophy - Asylum
  • Deception - Daenacteh
  • Sentry - Sentry
  • Ingested - The Tide of Death and Fractured Dreams
  • Shaving the Werewolf - God Whisperer EP
  • Alestorm - Voyage of the Dead Marauder EP
  • Kólga - Black Tides
  • Aborted - Vault of Horrors
  • Memento Mori - Memento Mori
  • Malphas - Portal
  • Hideous Divinity - Unextinct
  • Exhorder - Defectum Omnium
  • Obscura Qalma - Veils Of Transcendence EP
  • Stiriah - Portal