Journey into Darkness
Infinite Universe Infinite Death

Seemed like yesterday I reviewed Multitudes of Emptiness from Journey into Darkness.  This is Brett Clarin’s (formerly of Sorrow), symphonic blackened death metal band. Infinite Universe Infinite Death is the bands third album and this is longer than their previous album.  Brett still likes those instrumentals as 3 out of the 9 tunes are just that.  I’d imagine that’s Jei Doublerice back on vox as Brett takes care of doing all the music and musical compositions.

“Leave This Place” opens the album with monstrous drum machine blasts with the keyboards/synths providing the ambience for this type of music and vocals are an excellent blend of black and death metal.  After the ferocious blast the song slows down and music is in synch with those keyboards. Sounds incredible. The 2.15 part has a great rhythm section and then vocals kick in and those damn keys keeping the song so catchy. They are mixed higher than the last album which actually works well for the band.  The song has a lot of tempo and soundscape changes. A lot to absorb.

“Infinite Disillusion” is up next with great high and low vocals. The song is bludgeoning with its mid-paced moments which are super heavy. The guitars are more prominent in the mix, as well.  While Brett was recording the album he was sending me audio clips and asking for feedback. I offered some tips about certain elements regarding the mix and songs. I’m still pretty damn humbled he asked for my input.  Regardless; this song has a lot of epic moments lead by those catchy keys/synths. The song is brutal, and those epic atmospheric moments are soooo creative and what does it for me with JID.  2 of the 3 instrumentals are ambience stylized arrangements with the keys/synths. Very atmospheric and work well. “Infinite Universe, Infinite Death” has more of a true instrumental feel  rather than sounding like an interlude or outro.  It’s interesting the band opting for the title track to be an instrumental.  This has some of that but then bursts into the musical portion which works excellent.

“Cosmic Knot” has some great poly rhythm moments alongside some doomier guitar moments. The 2.30 riff brings me back to Brett’s excellent doom/death band Sorrow from the 80’s/90’s. You will hear those Sorrow moments throughout this slower song. Alongside the keys/synths (yes I never know the difference between keyboards and synths-sorry), are terrific and the vocals are just excellent. Love these guitar riffs on this song, because of the Sorrow connection.  “The Briefest Moment” is the longest song at over 5 and a half minutes starts with what appears to be a slower moment before the grind blast comes in. Slows down then bursts out the starting gates again with killer vocals alternating tones and the guitars are razor sharp. The slower moments are laden with atmospheric brutality and that 1.46 isolated guitar riff, before the rumbling heaviness, gets me. It’s a killer moment which is meant to rip your head clean off those useless shoulders you now have.

Infinite Universe Infinite Death has a lot going for it and surpasses the previous album. Better sounding drum machine, guitars are more upfront with a more dangerous sound to them and the keys/synths are more prominent in the mix and are front and center for much of the album.  They are composed and played marvelously.  Brett should be very proud of this effort.  It’s his best effort with Journey into Darkness and as symphonic blackened death metal goes – he fucking nails it!  Great album and I love the album cover. Buy or get sucked into a grind blast whirlwind blackhole vortex.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
January 26th, 2022


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold
  • Wormwood - The Star
  • Cavalera - Schizophrenia
  • Gatecreeper - Dark Superstition
  • Henry Kane - Circle of Pain
  • Grand Demise of Civilization - The Blaze of Abaddon
  • Anthropophagus Depravity - Demonic Paradise