King of Asgard

There must be some legal wrangling going on between Rikard Martinsson and his former band mates from Mithotyn, because the debut (Fi’mbulvintr) from Sweden’s King of Asgard―which features ex-Mithotyn/Falconer members Karl Beckmann and Karsten Larsson (with Stefan Weinerhall providing some lyrics)―is basically a Mithotyn album without the band name. Or Rikard for that matter.

Not only is it just because King of Asgard does blackened Viking metal, but because the band does it in a way that unmistakably brings the atmospheres of 1998’s Kings of Distant Forest in mind―clearer than Falconer ever did. The result is excellent and thus, a no brainer for Mithotyn fans. Fi’mbulvintr contains plenty of rousing, sword swinging goodness for people who enjoy acts like Amon Amarth, Ensiferum, Heathen Foray and such.

Especially when, like Amon Amarth, Heathen Foray and even Mithotyn, King of Asgard doesn’t rely on gimmicks or an overabundance  of hokey synths, flutes, harpsicords or such to convey the Viking-ness―not that there’s anything wrong with that. Though a few novelties do arise here and there such the brilliant clean and female vocals that start personal favorite “The Last Journey”, the less impressive clean vocals in “Brethren of the North and acoustic start to the somber “Heroes Brigade”, the atmospherics are pretty minimal.

Without forcing it, the Dissection-ish riffs and structures simply ooze chainmail and epic  gracious vistas of Nordic pride but most of all, the riffs are pure Mithotyn. Just listen to the tracks like the opening single “Einharjar” or “Never Again Will You Know of Flesh”, “Snake Tongue” and the moody title track.

With a slick production, vocals that rasp in the mid-range and an artwork that fits the sound―even if in the age of reunions and comebacks King of Asgard has a hard time admitting it―it’s clear what Fi’mbulvintr truly is: The newest addition to the Mithotyn discography.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
October 4th, 2010


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu