The Uncanny Valley

Here’s a fucking stout sophomore CD of burly, chunky and aggressive Danish death/thrash metal produced by Jacob Bredahl (Hatesphere) that takes Hatespshere’s tight form of neo-thrash and gives it some balls and dynamics.

Though hardly groundbreaking, the robotically themed The Uncanny Valley is sure as hell satisfying. The 12 tracks blast and rumble with typical Danish heft, and comes across as band like Urkraft want to be. Ballsier, faster, gnarlier and heavier, Koldborn do everything absolutely right on this album. The menacing roars of Lars Bjørn-Hansen (who give a very Sven De Caluwé like performance) gives the whole visage a more death metal feel (Aborted comes to mind), while the riffs of Jakob Nyholm and Henrik “Heinz” Jacobsen are tightly wound, dense and chunkier than a black comedienne’s butt cheeks.

That being said, and as much as I enjoyed The Uncanny Valley while it is spinning, many of the tracks blend into one long blasting grooving test of patience. Sure tracks like “Lords of Stupidity”, “Repression”, “The Uncanny Valley” and “A Destiny Predicted” blast and rumble with admirable tightness and gusto, I’m not quite reaching for the rewind button, or recalling the tracks during the day and as tracks 9-12 thrash by, I’m a bit bored.

Still, as far as enjoyable, immediate and disposable death/thrash metal is concerned, The Uncanny Valley delivers a 36 minute assault octane modern metal that should appease most fans of death and thrash metal looking for a quick fix.

By Erik Thomas

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
April 9th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Dååth - The Deceivers
  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon
  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory