I’m sure there’s someone reading this review that will absolutely love this record, but it’s really just not my thing. The new project of Voivod drummer Michel “Away” Langevin, Kosmos is a throwback to the progressive jam bands of the 1970s. The 12 tracks on this record feature lots of spacey keyboards, organs and some jazz fusion influence. While there are some undeniable grooves stashed around the songs, like the main riff on “Grand Grizou,” there are also these extended pieces of what, to me, is essentially white noise, like “Indu Kush,” which features some Indian-flavored chanting with an occasional exotic instrument run. For me, it wouldn’t even work as background noise. Then there’s just the strange, like “Septial” which sounds like a cheesy video game soundtrack.

You have to give them credit for a diverse album, as there’s everything from jazz fusion to the punk of “Much Too Old,” which seems incredibly out of place among the rest of the very esoteric offerings on the record.

I can certainly hear the attraction in some of the jam band-style offerings, but really the only tracks that I feel any connection whatsoever are the aforementioned “Grand Grizou” and the album closer “Messe Noire.”

Fans of old-school Rush, Yes and their ilk may really enjoy this record, as it’s in a similar style, just a little more spacey and out there. For myself, I’m willing to admit that I just don’t get it and leave it to the more enlightened listener.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Fred Phillips
August 6th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu