Arisen New Era

Man this is definitely the best Unique Leader release I have heard this year so far.  France’s long running Kronos waste no time in beginning their technical death metal assault off the gates with the opener “Infernal Abyss Sovereignty”. Pummeling blast beats and churning vocals set the stage for an incredibly entertaining listen. Being that they have been around for over twenty-one years Kronos is definitely a band that know what they are doing in terms of song arrangements. All nine songs on Arisen New Era are around the same length, which for me three to four minutes per song is the perfect length for this style of death metal.

“Zeus Dethroned” for me, is one of the most memorable songs on Arisen New EraKronos add a lot of elements of a lot of technical death metal bands this particular song reminds me of a cross between Hate Eternal and SoreptionKronos do a great job of showing technicality, brutality and groove throughout all of Arisen New Era and the melodic sense really is the icing on the cake with this record.

“Klymenos Underwrath” is the other track to me that sticks out on Arisen New Era, which shows how Kronos does a great job of balancing melody with unrelenting brutality.  There is a strong Aeon vibe in that this track opens with a very clean and well played double tracked lead line. Kronos do a pretty good job in general of providing a lot of variety in the arrangements on Arisen New Era and this definitely is a pinnacle release for Kronos.

Overall, this year has been loaded with well played and produced Technical Death Metal and Kronos have put forth an album that I think can hold it’s own up against a record like the new Nile that will be coming out soon. Arisen New Era has just as many riffs (If Not More), just as many blast beats and probably just as many solos.  Kronos seemed to have really found their sound with this album and I hope the underground scene takes notice of how well thought out and well played this album is.


[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
July 20th, 2015


  1. Commented by: Kevin E.

    Holy balls if that preview track is any indication of this one, then I will NEED to check this one out as soon as I can.

  2. Commented by: Nick K

    Kevin, the whole album is pretty over the top. I had to cut my review way back because i got really caught up in the guitar playing as a guitarist. For any band to be together as long as Kronos has this band clearly has grown together and made themselves a really memorable album.

  3. Commented by: gabaghoul

    this is fucking great, how have I not heard these guys before. tons of groove, like Benighted + Nile

  4. Commented by: Zach

    This album fucking kills!!!!

  5. Commented by: Barfneck

    No mention of their new singer Trivette who also fronts Diluvian

  6. Commented by: Nick K


    Thanks for sharing. I think my reviews would get a bet wordy if i put band history of every member of every band i review in a review. I do appreciate the feedback and i did learn something today. Glad for the most part that people are digging this record. Very well done.

  7. Commented by: Rabid1

    Good album. Anyone else get a Man Must Die vibe from listening to this? I’ve thought a few times I was listening to MMD when this pops up in the rotation.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP