Lecherous Nocturne
The Age of Miracles has Passed

Despite the switch from Deepsend to Unique Leader, little has changed in the Lecherous Nocturne camp. They still feature Mike Poggione (Monstrosity, Carpharnaum) on bass, they still unleash blistering blackened death metal, still under 30 minutes in length, and its still pretty good stuff.

Coming it at 28 minutes, compared to Adoration of the Blade’s 23 minutes, Lecherous Nocturne still bring to mind the likes of Council of the Fallen, Forest of Impaled and such in that that mix Floridian death metal with a razor sharp blackened fury and a sense of feral tenacity, despite lacking a real wow factor.

The sense of urgency is the same as the debut, but there’s also some subtle restraint which surfaces for some slower moments such as the title track and even some slight melodies as heard on “When Single Shines The Tripled Sun”. However, a majority of the material is sheer venom as the likes of opener “Just War Theory”, “We Are the Dust”, “Edict of Worms” and the Vader-ish hues of “Requiem For the Insects” which show a vicious if familiar assault, all armed with a tight production.

Despite certainly being destined to be mired in 2008s other great death metal releases, Lecherous Nocturne are still a pretty feasome, competent act that, like this review, gets straight to it and leaves quickly. Solid stuff.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
December 11th, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP