Amongst metal fans, there are a lot of people listening to different kinds of music. Some worship immortal classical masterpieces, like Swan Lake or Peer Gynt, whereas others go wild over all types of rock music. A young Welsh outfit called Lethargy is going to make an appeal to those in the latter category and particularly to those into such bands as Soundgarden, Alice In Chains, Screaming Trees, Stone Temple Pilots, Big Country and the likes. However, there is still one principal distinction placing Lethargy into a bit detached niche: in contrast to the aforementioned groups, they are much more diverse and show lots of styles and influences at a time, from 70’s Hard Rock to 90’s Grunge to present-day Stoner and Modern Metal.

Being the band’s sophomore album (and the debut for Powerage Records), Purification doesn’t at all sound like a creation of novices. Instead it demonstrates a full-grown act with a thorough mastery and enough potential to surprise even the most seasoned public. This is pretty justified as the guys have been playing together since their schooldays. The Classic Rock magazine has already proclaimed Lethargy “the next great rock band” and it is not far from truth I must say. Although there’s hardly anything unheard before on Purification, it sees a band willing to stay off the beaten path and introduce something a bit different into the chosen style.

The songs vary in pace and heaviness from ponderous half-bluesy numbers with thick highly amplified guitar tone to impressive rockers with all sorts of distortion and unexpectedly changing tempos to highly emotive and melodic balladesque pieces with dreamy strings, abstracted solos and beautiful vocal harmonies. The song structures are not monotonous or too simple and employ different rhythmical switches and breaks to warrant this disc a repeated listen from time to time. The solos by Andy Hunt are interesting and inventive. So is the spectacular work of bassist Marc T. Jones, who is more than up to the task of making his instrument far more conspicuous than in other bands of this ilk. Vocalist Phil Humphreys also keeps his end up managing to sound like Chris Cornell (Soundgarden, Audioslave) and Harry Hess (Harem Scarem) simultaneously.

Even though it wasn’t of much interest to me in the beginning I gradually took to most of the songs while writing this review. Moreover, such pieces as “Innocence Serene”, “A Lost Adoration”, “I See Man’s End In His Construction”, “Inertia” and awesome title track are nothing short of excellence and can easily rival any known hits in this sub-genre. If these Welshmen go on at that rate they will make Classic Rock’s prognosis come true in no time at all.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Igor Stakh
April 9th, 2009


  1. Commented by: Belgarath

    Despite how much I hoped this was a return of the old Lethargy, this really is pretty good. Definitely worth checking out.

  2. Commented by: Dan Zidar

    Props to the reviewer for knowing who Harry Hess is. Harem Scarem were great!!!

  3. Commented by: ceno

    Harem Scarem ARE great!!! :lol:

  4. Commented by: Dan Zidar

    Well, they broke up, so they were a great band.

  5. Commented by: ceno

    You might have been misinformed. They are still alive and kicking. Their last year’s album Hope is pretty cool. For more info look here http://www.haremscarem.net/

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul