Light Yourself On Fire
Intimacy EP

Here is a very tasty little17 minute, 6 track EP of fierce, angular but intelligent hardcore featuring former Reversal of Man vocalist Matt Coplon as well as other veterans from the Tampa, Florida hardcore scene and even former Brutality demo drummer Ken Karg (yes, that Brutality).

With a darkly nihilistic tone and atmosphere littered with lyrics and samples based on the writings and thoughts of Sartre, Kafka and Camus, Light Yourself On Fire come across as far more that your usual choppy, antagonistic hardcore band; think a slightly gruffer, heftier Converge with philosophy degree.

With a rumbling fume spewing diesel of a guitar tone mixed by Mark Nikolich (Kylesa, Torche) and mastered by Scott Hull as well Coplon’s varied gruff barks and screams, the 17 minutes of caustic precision leaves raspberries on your skin as tracks like “New Baby Girl”, “Five Blows” and “Haunts” lurch and sneer by, but also leaves you rubbing your chin pensively with some thought provoking samples and a couple of introspective moments to start “Love and Death”, “Intimacy” and “Montag”.

A very promising second EP, and I hope a full length surfaces soon as LYSOF look to inject some intellectual fury into the hardcore scene.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 20th, 2008


  1. Commented by: swampthang

    man brutality’s name is poppin up everywhere lately. nways def gotta check this out.

  2. Commented by: vegard

    is this the same band that had a selftitled ep out? always liked the dudes vocals, reminded me somewhat of daniel weyandt.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Stellar Remains - Wastelands EP
  • Acrid Death - Abominable Presence of Blight
  • Apparition - Fear the Apparition
  • Morta Skuld - Creation Undone
  • House of Atreus - Orations EP
  • Spectral Voice - Sparagmos
  • Hellman - Born, Suffering, Death
  • Blood Red Throne - Nonagon
  • Hulder - Verses In Oath
  • Ghoul - Noxious Concoctions EP
  • Chaos Sanctuary - Instrumentality
  • Mega Colossus - Showdown
  • Mind Conflict - Temple of God
  • Necrowretch - Swords of Dajjal
  • Wolves of Perdition - Ultra-Violence