These Nameless Worlds EP

With a name like Lightlorn ( ‘having no light’ or ‘bereft of light’) you’d think the debut EP from these Gothenburg atmospheric/post black metallers would be a truly grim, depressive affair.

However, the 4 lengthy songs that comprise this EP are actually some of the most delightfully uplifting, melodic black metal I’ve heard in a while, maybe dating back to the likes of prime Vallendusk, Vvilderness, Ghost Bath, Vinland, Vela Pulsar, Mare Cognitum, Spectral Lore and Falls of Rauros. If you dig any of those bands more melodic, harmonic moments- check these guys out now.

I don’t want use the term ‘happy’ black metal as the subject matter deals with existential dread and the cold void of space – but that said, when you hear the little piano bridge that occurs about 2  and a half minutes into second track “Beyond the Cold Black Yonder”, it’s a delight. And that piano makes a couple of other short appearances on other tracks too.

And the rest of the other 4 tracks do little to sway my opinion with wondrously melodic, jangly, soaring 6/8 riffs that litter this lovely little EP. Opener “Unmapped Constellations”, has one at the 4:37 mark, we’ve already talked about “Beyond the Cold Black Yonder”, but it also has a great opening riff. “Dilation Sleep” has a lovely atmospheric/ piano break about half way in and killer final minutes. Though the clean vocals are a bit ‘meh’. Closer “Stargazing in the Abyss” is the EPs highlight, with a slow atmospheric start before the albums’ most ferociously harmonic riff explodes and also finishes the EP with emotive , shrill melodic bliss.

Any way, this a cool little 30 or so minute release that was a completely blind grab for me, but one I’m happy I checked out.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
November 11th, 2022


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Stellar Remains - Wastelands EP
  • Acrid Death - Abominable Presence of Blight
  • Apparition - Fear the Apparition
  • Morta Skuld - Creation Undone
  • House of Atreus - Orations EP
  • Spectral Voice - Sparagmos
  • Hellman - Born, Suffering, Death
  • Blood Red Throne - Nonagon
  • Hulder - Verses In Oath
  • Ghoul - Noxious Concoctions EP
  • Chaos Sanctuary - Instrumentality
  • Mega Colossus - Showdown
  • Mind Conflict - Temple of God
  • Necrowretch - Swords of Dajjal
  • Wolves of Perdition - Ultra-Violence