Built on Struggle

“Negative as Fuck” hardcore act Lionheart return with their new album Built On Struggle. Continuing where the last album (The Will to Survive) left off, Lionheart has managed to create another brutal and punishing slab of hate filled hardcore.

Judging the book by its cover is a safe bet this time around. Looking at the band name and the album title, one definitely knows what to expect when delving into an album of this nature; gang vocals and breakdowns galore.

“Relentless” starts the album out with screaming police car sirens before the actual pummeling kicks in few seconds later, instantly reducing your brain into a mush. Macho vocals spray lyrics dealing with beating people up and all types of ill shit while strong burly breakdowns help the surge of aggression reach a definite boiling point. I couldn’t have it any other way; it’s Lionheart―you know what’s up!

After the opening track the band continues with their onslaught adding in a few solos and some thrashy Slayer-styled riffage. The only downside to this madness is that the album is a little too long for this style of mayhem. After three or four tracks―or swings from a baseball bat―you’ve seen it all: Pure tough guy hardcore, bruised with breakdowns and sliced with mean vocals. Those are the key ingredient here.

Even though Built on Struggle is a little long, I still loved every minute of it and will keep on jamming this album all year. For some, the sheer amount of breakdowns will make it or break it but for those that love bands like Thick as Blood or Donnybrook…here’s yet another album that you all have to check out.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Jesse Wolf
January 13th, 2011


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal
  • Dauþuz - Uranium
  • Fluids - Reduced Capabilities
  • The Headless Ghost - King Of Pain