Lost Soul
Atlantis: The New Beginning

Back in 2000,  along with Trauma, Lost Soul were super close to being mentioned with the same breath as Vader, Yattering, Behemoth and the then new Decapitated as Polish death metal elite. 2000s Scream of the Mourning Star was released on the US on the mighty Relapse, 2002s Ubermensch and 2005s Chaostream (For the record, “Godstate” is still an amazing death metal tune) were universally acclaimed. But after 2009s Immerse in Infinity, the band has been dark.

Well, founder Jacek Grecki, after getting a new line up for Immerse in Infinity has yet another line up 6 years later and has released arguably one of 2015s best death  metal albums. The album sub title, The New Beginning is very apt as Grecki appears to have reinvented Lost Soul as a far more epic and symphonically laced tech death metal band that will appeal to The Monolith Deathcult (namely Truimvirate) and Fleshgod Apocalypse.

While Grecki flirted with spacey atmospherics and ambiance on Immerse in Infinity,  Atlantis goes the other direction going for full on choirs and orchestration. It’s not a continual, bombastic element like Fleshgod Apocalypse but certainly like say Sarpanitum or Scrambled Defuncts, a very major part of all the songs. And with the Atlantean concept driving the album, it’s all very fitting and results in a truly epic death metal album.

From the opening choir and vortex of 9 minute opener “Hypothelemus”, it’s clear Lost Soul is still rooted in Polish paradigms, so tight, authoritative technical death metal, with hints of Nile erupting amid the full on choirs, hefty rumbles and dramatic orchestration. And so the template is laid for the next, exhaustive but rewarding 51 minutes. Thankfully though the next two songs “Aqueous Ammonia” and “Ravines of Rapture” are a little shorter, if interchangeable in their delivery of fast n furious tech death metal, though the latter a little more restraint by way of some spoken word and choral segues.

“Unicornis” finally offers a bit of respite with a little more choppy, stop start riffs and some nice dual male/female choirs  and some very cool monkish grunts and chants, making one of my favorite tracks from the album. After an intense opening half, “The Next Generation” delivers the album’s first ‘slow song’ with militant marches and stern lurches that epitomize Polish death metal.

“False Testimony” although the album’s shortest track at a shade over two minutes, but delivers some great blackened melodies while “Frozen Volcano” is a track that most imbues Fleshgod’s blasting bombastic overtures. But the album isn’t all just bluster, there is some very nice lead solo work as displayed on the aforementioned track as well as the closing title track.

The digipack version of this album comes with 3 bonus tracks; “Red Giant”, “Sonidos del Apocalipsis”, and “Supernovae”, which while lacking the Atlantis theme, blend right in with the album, especially in the lead guitar department.  So that’s three songs added to an already great album, that’s the complete package and one of the best of the year.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
December 23rd, 2015


  1. Commented by: Kevin E.

    Absolutely killer album. Have my copy on the way and will definitely be on my year end list.

  2. Commented by: Slaveborn/Mars

    Guess I’m alone (see my year end list). It’s epic in every which way but I found it a hike through a mud field to get through. I enjoyed Immerse In Infinity much more. Maybe in a few months I’ll revisit.

  3. Commented by: Myrkskog

    Seeing this on a Russian, honest-as-the-day-is-long, death metal ‘blog’ before it’s release, had me excited and genuinely reinvigorated my flatlined interest in Metal in ’15. But, alas, the heights of Chaostream aren’t reached, at least on the few listens I’ve given it so far. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised after ’09s III; a good album, sure, but nothing on Chaostream, which thankfully, as I’m currently having the flesh from my face stripped off to “Death Crowns All” still stands the test of time.

    I’m sure I’ll give Atlantis another listen, I just hope it grows.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death