Plague Angel

New blood can rejuvenate. Plague Angel proves this. Arioch is a good choice for Legion’s replacement. When Legion took over vocals I was not won over for awhile. I got used to his style and started to think of him as one of the best of the more deathish black style even overlooking his rather monotonous delivery. Where I got sold on Legion over the course of his first decade with the band, Mortuus (why the name change?) I like right off. I knew his style from Funeral Mist. It is a big jump up in profile for him and he seems up to the challenge. Track six, “Perish In Flames” is the song that won me over to the new vocalist. It also boasts some cool riffs and ‘sedate’ drumming. The intensity of the music is still there with many memorable riffs but none that are particularly outstanding. The drums are clearly heard, the guitars are loud, it’s typical Marduk.

For these heavyweights the bar is higher and my personal Best of Marduk cd is full, mostly with pre Panzer stuff, but the closing song, “Blutrache” has forced its way on there. It is a bit of a throwback song with a slower pace and Emil competes well with the vocals. This song is nearly eight minutes and is preceded by 25 seconds of bomb bursts, which erupt full force from the previous song, “Everything Bleeds”, a nice short, chaotic, abrupt, disharmonious brush with speed and more speed. These two combine for a very powerful ending to a great album.

Only Marduk can produce an album that ranks sixth of seventh on their career list and still blow away nearly everyone else on the planet. Now I’m even more eager for a return to American soil.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Grimulfr
November 19th, 2004


  1. Commented by: Old Pick Axe

    Hands down my favorite Marduk album. “The Hangman Of Prague,” “Throne Of Rats,” and “Seven Angels, Seven Trumpets” are all masterpieces. Brilliant album, period.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King