Margin of Error
What You Are About to Witness

I really wanted to like Margin of Error’s second self-released effort a little more, as it mixes deathcore with a sort of electronica/industrial sort of The Berzerker sheen, but in the end, the fusing of the two elements isn’t quite as impressive as it could have been.

With a thick heavy production that has a very programmed sounding drums, and guitars that have a rather off-putting electronic fuzz and hue, Margin of Error’s sound is certainly heavy, if muted. The concept album is based inside a serial killer’s mind, so the potential is here for a striking self-released effort that should have some appeal to the Suicide Silence/Whitchapel crowd. But unimaginative bland riffs and a rather flat approach to songwriting—that relies too much on rather lifeless breakdowns—simply misses the mark.

A few lumbering breakdowns here and there are acceptable but there’s something about the industrial, almost cyber gloss, synths and tone that just doesn’t sit right with me here. It’s as if a band like Deathstars or the The Kovenant tried their hand at heavy handed hardcore or deathcore. Just listen to the title track, it’s a good example. On paper it all sounds intriguing, but sadly and somewhat simply, it just doesn’t quite work.

Though trying to be as dark and menacing as the subject matter, Margin of Error’s songs and atmosphere’s simply don’t convey the twisted psychosis of a serial killer’s mind, but more the mind of a cyborg’s circuit board. Tracks like the initially promising “We Are the End”, “Cut the Throat”, ‘Innocent Victim’ and the “End of Worth” simply come across like Hatebreed with some cybernetic elements and deathcore vocals. And that in itself may have some small appeal to a very niche crowd, but personally Margin of Error misses the margin of error by delivering an album that in theory, seems to have a very interesting concept and musical idea — but in practice, doesn’t reach the potential.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
March 21st, 2011


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold
  • Wormwood - The Star
  • Cavalera - Schizophrenia
  • Gatecreeper - Dark Superstition
  • Henry Kane - Circle of Pain
  • Grand Demise of Civilization - The Blaze of Abaddon
  • Anthropophagus Depravity - Demonic Paradise
  • Downcross - White Tower