Louder Than A Thousand Deaths EP

So Dark Descent Records has taken a little break from their Finnish death metal revival to license this 2012 release from this Swedish/Hungarian act, which was originally released on Mi Saco Un Ojo Records.  Fans of the likes of recent acts Necrowretch and Necrocurse should take note, as Megatomb ply the same sort of black tinged, thrashy death metal. I hear some Kreator in here as well, and while the whole thing comes together pretty well and shows Dark Descent’s ear for quality underground bands, I prefer my death metal a little beefier.

With one intro and 5 songs, the EP blazes by pretty fiercely with a little over 16 minutes of pretty relentless metal. Even though the opening intro “Entering the Megatomb” hints  at something slightly more Stockholm-y sounding, it’s short lived as the next 5 tracks are blistering, slicing numbers that don’t let of the pedal. The vocals are a standard echoe-y, black thrash rasp, and the guitar tone is clear but brittle with little low end. But there is a razor sharp intensity to the tracks  as immediately shown on “Pestilent Sun” and “Multideath” show with gusto.

“Dealing With the Cross” is the EP’s lone slow track, with a classic thrash trundle while “Forbidden Altar” mixes the two before the closing salvo of “Nuclear Violence” closes out this intense little EP with impressive intensity. Fans of Desaster and Nifelheim shoul check this out, and I may even check out future releases, despite not really being a fan of the style.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by E. Thomas
May 3rd, 2013


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. Your post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and maybe held up for further approval. We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Abigail WIlliams - Walk Beyond the Dark
  • Suicide Silence - Become the Hunter
  • Annihilator - Ballistic, Sadistic
  • Hell:On/Pripjat - A Glimpse Beyond (Split)
  • Silvertomb - Edge of Existence
  • Necropanther - The Doomed City
  • Lorna Shore - Immortal
  • Ian Blurton Future Now - Signals Through the Flames
  • Voice of Ruin - Acheron
  • Inverted Matter - Detach
  • Marrasmieli - Between Land and Sky
  • Infirmity - Descendants of Sodom
  • Cryptic Brood - Outcome of Obnoxious Science
  • Visceral Disgorge - Slithering Evisceration
  • Psychomancer - Shards of the Hourglass