Messe Mortuaire 
Nocturnal Demonic Visitation 12” MLP

“That’s a nasty piece of work, sir.” Indeed, it is Death Metal, primitive and crawling on its bloodied knuckles, a foaming Satanic beast. Here I have Messe Mortuaire, a continuation of France’s Sepulchral; the country’s first Death Metal band who have unleashed their debut EP under their new moniker of Messe Mortuaire and goddammit I love the way France does Death Metal!

“Intro: The Devil’s Hour” is the instrumental… first track, it sets the atmosphere of the album perfectly, setting the scene for what’s to come. The second track, which is also the title track “Nocturnal Demonic Visitation”. It’s here that I picked up little bits of Incantation, especially in the buzzsaw-like guitar tone and slightly cavernous production. This sick motherfucker blasts along with vitriolic rage until “Vampyrum Spectrum” slows things down and is named after one of the members; this track burns with black fire, boiling and churning with Satanic malice, right until the 2.00 mark when it picks up speed and seamlessly segues into “Filius Diaboli”. This track is also named after one of the members. It blasts like a furnace with some evil riffs until the “Outro: Messe Mortuaire”.

Overall, Nocturnal Demonic Visitation is a tight five track EP that deserves attention. This is grand maul Death Metal with some sick as fuck riffing throughout. FFO: Sepulchral, God Macbre, Cemetery and Incantation. Old School French Death Metal at it’s rawest, and an EP definitely worth your consideration.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Jeremy Beck
April 21st, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu