Misanthropic Might

As usual, here we are in 2015, and we are unearthing a few 2014 releases worth your time. Amid the many 2014 releases I overlooked is this album I randomly downloaded amid all of the digital promos we get sent having no idea about the band at all. But the internet helped me out…

Apparently, despite being around since 2001 this is only the second album from Austria’s Misanthropic Might,( they released their debut Misanthropic War over a decade ago) who shares members with death metal act Parental Advisory. But it’s a pretty damn good effort of Dark Funeral ish wall of noise, razor sharp, slightly melodic black metal furor, that also has some early Cradle of Filth riffs and high pitched screams, just minus the Gothic bullshit.

Don’t let the COF comparison fool you, it’s only in the shrieks, a few deep bellows and fierce blasts, as the DF reference is pretty dominating, I actually thought third track “Doomsday” was  cover song from Secrets of the Black Arts being a dead ringer for the albums opening track ( which of course could be wholly intentional). And the album is littered with many frosty, tremolo picked icy blasts that will make you shiver, making for a pretty under that radar release that fans of the style should check out.

Along with the aforementioned “Doomsday”, the likes of “Fallen Kingdom”, delivered with perfect control and pacing amid the vitriol, and utterly blistering, personal favorite, “Human Scum”, which even hints at a sort of Zyklon like, mechanical death metal intensity, the album , even at 46 minutes, is a force to be reckoned with. And while the 8 songs are pretty long for this style, it never loses steam and shows just enough variety (i.e some melodic leads in closer “Becoming the Misanthrope”, some movie samples) to hold your interest, and be a black metal band I will be keeping an eye on, assuming they don’t wait another 10 years.


[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
February 2nd, 2015


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness