Misery Signals

On the surface, it would appear that Ferret has become the anathema of every indie music fan; that being a capitalistically driven monolith intent on peddling the lowest common denominator drivel and casting it off as music that is ‘innovative,’ ‘vital,’ or that has ‘integrity.’ Fortunately, Ferret, unlike Victory hasn’t descended too far into the depths of hell as they still release quality records.

It’s certainly a benefit to band as undeniably brilliant as Misery Signals, who, had they not been on a label as supportive and as encouraging, would have no doubt gone the same way as their precursor (7 Angels 7 Plagues), i.e. six feet under. This of course is a benefit for us, the music populous because residing on a label that is secure means that records are likely to be forthcoming on a steady, cyclical basis, and sure enough, two years on from the brilliant Mirrors, Controller, comes forth to show why this band are one of the best, if not the best modern, contemporary metalcore band around.

‘Controller,’ is a much slimmer, immediate opus, cutting back on the meandering song writing that slithered and dominated Mirrors, (which was one of that record’s primary strengths). Initially the approach seems purely akin to that of their self titled EP, which focused on immediacy rather then longevity. However, repeated listens, reveals more and more that there is just as much eloquence and grace buried within Controller, as there was on their previous two full lengths.

Certainly the first 3 numbers pertain to this notion that immediacy is the band’s salient motive, especially when the quaking breakdown at the conclusion of ‘Labyrinthian,’ unfolds. From there though, the record truly blossoms, displaying the breath and dexterity of Misery Signal’s undoubted mastery of their craft.

‘Coma,’ contains those gorgeous, swirling harmonies and sweeps, so vital to their sound but, as always this is offset against plenty of spiralling chugs and double bass blasts that create a sumptuous juxtaposition that remains cohesive and consistent and not a series of passages and moments carelessly pasted together. ‘Set in Motion’ is the real show stealer though. At barely 4 minutes it is a humongous epic that is underpinned by this incredible glistening wall of guitar noise and thumping double bass that is as much ethereal and hypnotizing as it is uplifting.

With more and more new bands that appear seeming to be more and more disposable its not only reassuring to see Misery Signals sticking to their sound but continuing to hone and nurture it. What’s more encouraging is that the band still has plenty more territory to explore to enable their sound to blossom even further.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Benjamin DeBlasi
August 19th, 2008


  1. Commented by: elguerosinfe

    Uh, Benjamin: metal music review, not college english paper. There is a difference.

  2. Commented by: swampthang

    ^ idiot ^ anyways good review! the vocals are fucking powerful on this disc, dude gives me the chills.

  3. Commented by: bast

    I don`t listen to metalcore. Though I haven`t envoyed this much an album -close to the metalcore tag- since Undoing Ruin or Constitution of Treason. Uplifting.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP