Shoot ‘Em Up

Shoot ‘em Up, the self-released album from Canadian death-thrashers Mortör is one of those efforts that you hear every once in a while that makes you think it could have easily been released on a metal label of some repute. It’s catchy, it’s grooving, and it’s just plain tough. With nary an ounce of fat to be found, Shoot ‘em Up gives you 14 persuasive reasons (and that includes the “Intro”) to bang your head whilst a big, shit-eating grin is permanently etched into your sweaty face.

The not so secret ingredient of Shoot ‘em Up is Mortör ’s skilled approach to songwriting, one that that concentrates solely on a rock solid combination of great riffs, bangin’ cadences, and no-frills choruses that are immediately memorable. Add to that the intelligible death- rasps of vocalist Yolin Lafrenière and some super cool lock-step syncopation and what you are hearing soon becomes recognizable as the sound of a complete package. “Under the Flag,” the title track, and a cut in “Clusterfuck” that is impossible to dislodge from memory (try not to smile ‘n bang during that refrain – you’ll fail every time) could be considered the highlights, but in all honesty Shoot ‘em Up is a mandatory front-to-back listen devoid of anything resembling dud. That includes “Days of our Knives,” mentioned here specifically because of its righteous title. This is just too damn much fun.

Just check out some of the links below and you’ll soon understand why Shoot ‘em Up is without a doubt one of the best self-released metal albums of 2012.  Seek out the album and buy it. It’s as simple as that.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Scott Alisoglu
October 30th, 2012


  1. Commented by: Nick Taxidermy

    That’s a great cover, too.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Stellar Remains - Wastelands EP
  • Acrid Death - Abominable Presence of Blight
  • Apparition - Fear the Apparition
  • Morta Skuld - Creation Undone
  • House of Atreus - Orations EP
  • Spectral Voice - Sparagmos
  • Hellman - Born, Suffering, Death
  • Blood Red Throne - Nonagon
  • Hulder - Verses In Oath
  • Ghoul - Noxious Concoctions EP
  • Chaos Sanctuary - Instrumentality
  • Mega Colossus - Showdown
  • Mind Conflict - Temple of God
  • Necrowretch - Swords of Dajjal
  • Wolves of Perdition - Ultra-Violence