Mystic Rites
Threads EP

Here is a solid 17 minute,  2 song independent release from Polish black metal act Mystic Rites. I’m not familiar with the band, but they hit me up on Facebook asking for a review, sent me a CD, so here we are.

I have not heard any of the band’s prior out put since 2012, a couple more EPs and a couple of singles, bu based on what I’m hearing on the 2 lengthy songs on Threads, “Threads” and “And So the Silence Died”, there is some potential here.  There’s a murky discordance and occult, experimental pulse not to far removed from Deathspell Omega , Aosoth,  Grey Heaven Fall , Schammasch or latter Behemoth. The last third of the title track, having a particularly atonal, ambient transition that come across as pretty bleak yet atmospheric.

“And So the Silence Died” start with haunting chamber music before unfurling a pretty nasty, dissonant shuffle and angular  blackened death lurch that’s rather impressive. Its injected with some slower, ritualistic almost doomy moments that  are pretty foreboding and along with the pained shrieks and moans and solid production, makes for a pretty solid free download. I hope they can produce a full length album here in the not to distant future as there is something to like here that needs to be built upon and further developed.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
July 20th, 2018


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul