Unsilent Death

I’ve been digging some d-beat/crust of late such as Masakari, D.I.S, Warvictims, Early Graves, and even pulling out some old Victims and Disfear records, but the best of the bunch has to be this blistering little 15 minute record from South Carolina’s Nails.

Due to a super crunchy, mid-range buzzing guitar tone to die for, fans of Trap Them, Black Breath as well as Gadget, Nasum and Rotten Sound should also take note. Not only because of the guitar tone, but because even though Nails are a hardcore/d-beat/crust band (with members of Terror and Carry On), this savage little CD also carries some Swedish grindcore throes in many of its feedback drenched lurches and vicious blasts.

Seriously, this thing fucking rips. Its 10 track 15 minute durations, as about as intense as any thing you’ll hear in any genre this year, and while its over way too quickly, you’ll want to revisit it over and over again (much like sex with me). From skin peeling opener “Conform”, through thunderous closer “Depths”, the album reminds a little of all the above bands (“Your God”, “Traitor”, “No Servant”, “Scapegoat”) as well as a hefty dose of Wolverine Blues (“Unsilent Death”, “I Will Not Follow”) here and there.

Paying money for such a short term investment may seem like a strange choice, but it’s well worth it. Besides, Unsilent Death can be had for cheap (again; sex, me).

Get it!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
June 16th, 2010


  1. Commented by: globox

    New shit from the Carry On guys? Sign me up.

  2. Commented by: Paul

    The link to the band’s website ain’t right, fellas.

  3. Commented by: Apollyon

    Fixed. It’s pointing to the label’s myspace, since the band itself doesn’t seem to sport any official web-outlet.

  4. Commented by: JH DOOM

    Nails are from California, not South Carolina… do your research folks.

  5. Commented by: Erik Thomas

    I did research. I read one place that said S Carolina and one that said Cali. thanks for verifying

  6. Commented by: dude

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock