To an untrained ear or mind, a frightening violation of the senses like this is hard to stomach. The soundscape presented is bleak, unsettling, and chaotic, yet melodic and textured at the same time. If you’re into the disturbed extremities of heavy music then look no further. There is nothing pretty about Haven and one should proceed with caution.

Necronoclast has been described as Leviathan and Burzum meets December Souls era Katatonia. That is the most dead on description I have ever read about a band and that description alone will probably leave most of your gasping for air and soiling your jeans. I have heard previous records and that about sums up Necronoclast the best. The intense rawness and blasting of Leviathan is poured in to a melting pot of fuzzed out Burzum ambience and screeching howls, only to be finished off with the melancholy and melody of early Katatonia. It is quite a brew indeed and it will haunt you for days after.

Greg Edwards, is the Scottish individual responsible for such an abomination and he is the sole member of Necronoclast. Handling everything, this guy rivals just about any one-man band on the planet. His vocal delivery is probably the most upsetting thing I have heard since Varg Vikernes. It’s a throat shredding gurgle screech that is filled with hatred. It is very powerful and it will give you nightmares. Honestly, this kind of tortuous delivery is not what I enjoy and I’m sure there are only a select few, mostly black metal fans, who would. He also goes guttural on tracks like “Nyctophobia,” and “Deathless,” which verges on death/doom metal. Obviously, this kind of purge is meant as a catharsis. There clearly are a lot of dark corners in Mr. Edwards mind.

Production wise Haven is impressive. Keeping things very primitive and organic, this disc still has a very big and full sound but will also have you drifting away in its swells of dreary surroundings. The technicality comes deep within the fuzzed-out ambience, structured melodies, and constantly changing drums. You will hear the Katatonia reference most prominent on songs like “Entombed in Silence Above.” The last three tracks are one continuous journey in “Slashed by Shards of Existence.” Most of the record is pretty violent, though there are numerous droning breaks that usually end with a brutal scream and pummeling blast beats, alongside sustained guitar fuzz.

Haven, is for select few. Just as Burzum is consider drivel to some and brilliance to others, Neronoclast searches deep inside the psyche to unravel your worst thoughts. Spend time with this record as it will take over a week to fully grasp.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shane Wolfensberger
December 6th, 2008


  1. Commented by: Dan

    Diggin’ it. Love the demented vocals. Reminds me of the same twisted melodicism Horna achieved on Envaatnags Eflos Solf Esgantaavne. This is officially on my buy list.

  2. Commented by: stiffy

    It’s fuckin twisted.

  3. Commented by: Cynicgods

    Just what I expect from Moribund. Quality insanity.

  4. Commented by: DrunkenMondkey

    Oh my goodness, Leviathan + Burzum … uuhhhhhhahaaahahahaha I must buy this album!!!!!

  5. Commented by: stiffy

    definitely your bag, Monkey.

  6. Commented by: elguerosinfe

    Great project [its hard to call these 1-man outfits bands]. Lots of katatonia influence which i love, and great song-writing in general.

  7. Commented by: axiom

    Man, this one sounds right up my alley. Moribund’s got a big clearance sale going also, may order today. Nice one Stiffy.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP