Nucleus Torn

On one hand, the debut full length album from Switzerland’s Nucleus Torn is a fitting addition to Prophecy’s legacy of artistically exquisite, female fronted, avant garde, folk, ambient music, but at times it also awkwardly tries to be something a bit more progressively ‘metal’ or rock, and ultimately fails.

When Nihil is delivering delicate and lush acoustic (violins, cellos, etc) wonderful Irish ballad influenced opener “Glass Spirit”, “Close” or “The Sunclad” all laced with Maria D’Alessandro’s wonderfully Gaelic voice, the album envokes Tehni or Nuen Welten moments of hypnotic musical beauty. However, when Patrick Schaad takes over and the band tries to change up into more metal elements like “Traveler’s Rest”, “Summer Bled” and “Peregrine Sublime”, even though they have levels of string and acoustic backdrops of folkish charm, the more caustic, angular metal prose comes across like a cheap Arcturus rip-off, if they were more earth bound and less talented.

Nihil is apparently the first album in a trilogy to be completed by parts two and three, Knell and Andromeda Awaiting respectively, my only hope is that Nihil focus more on their far more impressive folk elements than the rather forced metal elements.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 5th, 2006


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • The Lion’s Daughter  - Skin Show
  • Aversed - Impermanent
  • Passéisme - Eminence
  • Kataan - Kataan EP
  • Feculent - The Grotesque Arena EP
  • Dead World Reclamation - Aura of Iniquity
  • Wythersake - Antiquity
  • Cambion - Conflagrate the Celestial Refugium
  • Mistweaver - Swansong
  • Beekeeper - Slaves to the Nothing
  • The Monolith Deathcult   - V3 - Vernedering
  • Agent Steel - No Other Godz Before Me
  • Vallendusk - Heralds of Strife
  • Bodom After Midnight - Paint the Sky with Blood EP
  • Morbid Breath - In the Hand of The Reaper EP