Split EP 7”

New year, new reviews, right? That’s the name of this tune, anyway.

December of 2022 had a lot of surprises, and this tight little cassette split was one of them. Seven tracks, the longest being Fluids’ “Heaven-Sent” (3:17) and the shortest being Nunslaughter’s “It’s You I Hate” (.31).

Neither band needs an introduction, Nunslaughter has been around for twenty-five fucking years, and their three contributions, the aforementioned “It’s You I Hate”, personal favorite “Raked Across the Coals” and the sickly slow “Into the Chasm”. These are violent outbursts of raw, Black Metal; bestial and savage with a production that’s as uncompromising as the music cracking your eardrums.

Arizona’s Fluids play brutal as a motherfucking bear attack, goregrind. They contribute four blistering tracks: “Hounded” a short lesson in brutality, “Varicose” a mid-paced at first then blasting maniac track. “Heaven-Sent” is beautifully uncontrollable, vocals are screams from Hell while the music rolls like a poisonous cloud. The album closer “Infantile Mysticism” is a brutal pounder, sort of like that final shovel to the neck that severs the head.

If you like Abysmal Lord and Blasphemy, grimy and sweaty Black Metal you’ll love Nunslaughter, but I’m guessing that if you already love them this will just make that love grow. Fluids get a fuller, more brutal sound. Everything is in your face, with no restraint at all, just right for fans of Fulci, Percusser and Mortician, definitely Mortician. This is a solid cassette that I highly recommend, whatcha waiting for?

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Jeremy Beck
January 27th, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal