Octavia Sperati
Grace Submerged

On their second album, Norway’s Octavia Sperati (now no longer an all female act with the addition of drummer Ivar Alver), continue their more doomy, Anti-Nightwish take on female fronted Goth metal, and continue to impress with some improved song writing growth.

With an earthier, almost more stoner rock development from Winter Enclosure, these gals are still, filled with melancholy and a sullen female mope, and Madder Mortem are still a viable comparison, but there are plenty of moments of heft as heard on the impressive lead off track, “Guilty Am I”, the moody “Moonlit” and upbeat “Going North”. However, the band expose their estrogen with the superb ballad, “Don’t Believe a Word” where vocalist Silje Wergeland really impresses in her interplay with Tone Midtgaard’s delicate synths. The growth of the band shines for “And Then The World Froze” a fully developed, rich track of varying moods and textures that manages to capture the mix of darkly erotic, self loathing and shimmers of hope.

Even with tracks like “The Final Rest” and “Deprevation” the album isn’t quite as dark, depressing pr ‘cold’ as the debut, but it still have the same dichotomy as their debut in that its not peppy enough for Lacuna Coil/Nightwish fans and not quite stout enough for the death/doom crowd, though “Provenance of Hate” gives an admirable effort. There is another fine ballad for the penultimate track, “Dead End Poem” that serves to cement, that more evocative, delicate stuff is the bands strength.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
July 27th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Sonata Arctica - Clear Cold Beyond
  • Necrocracy - Predestiny
  • Replicant - Infinite Mortality
  • Zombi - Direct Inject
  • Mastiff - Deprecipice
  • Wristmeetrazor - Degeneration
  • Lvme - A Sinful Nature
  • Chapel of Disease - Echoes of Light
  • Houwitser - Sentinel Beast
  • My Dying Bride - A Mortal Binding
  • Mutilation Barbecue  - Amalgamations of Gore
  • Atrophy - Asylum
  • Deception - Daenacteh
  • Sentry - Sentry
  • Ingested - The Tide of Death and Fractured Dreams