Ominous Scriptures
Rituals of Mass Self-Ignition

I have been looking forward to this one. First off, the cover artwork is fantastic.  I am going to want to mail order this and get a shirt as well.  “Demonic Totem I Am” gets the album going.  The opening riff hook has a Deeds of Flesh Vibe to it and even more so when the harmony kicks in.  The drum work on this release is for the most part very solid.  Alex Navitski has some nifty feet work going on. My only gripe with drum work is on blast parts something sounds off to me. Riff wise they guys are creating some gross atmospheres and they do an excellent job in varying the tempos from track to track.

The title track “Rituals of Mass Self- Ignition” is up next.   The riff work of Sirahei Liakh and Pavel Lapkouski is quite locked in and diverse.  I like the Immolation-like groove on this one and then the Suffocation-like outro with lead work. The album hits quickly with track times averaging between two to four minutes.  This helps with the flow of the album.

As the album progresses you can hear other influences, “Fanning The Flames” has a bit of a Cannibal Corpse vibe.  The riffs are quite pummeling and relentless on this one. “Mangled Perception” has some cool bass work going on in the beginning. The closing track “Codex Rescriptus” probably is the right song to end album with as it opens with a completely different vibe then the rest of the album which is mostly up-tempo.  This one is a slow build with some excellent mosh parts.

Overall, this is a cool release and worth checking out.   I look forward to future releases from these brutal folks from Belarus

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
March 1st, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP