From Helsinki Finland, Technical Dissonant Death Metallers Omnivortex returns with their second full-length Circulate. The album kicks off with “Dwells” which opens with a huge dissonant vibrato riff that leads the way for an impressive track.   What makes Omnivortex unique is their dual vocal approach. Both the drummer Aaro Osterman and guitarist Aaro Österman manage the responsibilities. Circulate was produced, recorded, and mixed by Teemu Aalto (Insomnium, Omnium Gatherum) and mastered by Jaime Gomez Arellano (Ghost, Paradise Lost, Mayhem).

The song arrangements throughout are well done and the overall production is top-notch. “Transforming to Pale Mist” opens with a fantastic, augmented groove that quickly speeds up with fantastic blast work. “Of Aeons Past” is up third and has a music video that is worth checking out. They have a sense of humor which is much appreciated. In a way, it makes the music even more entertaining to listen to. This track has a bit of a slow build to it.

“Slumbering in Black” lives up to its name with some nice, old-fashioned cold dissonance in the riffs to create a bleakness to build into. Again, I cannot state how impressive this album sounds.    For a second album and having been around since 2019 this is quite impressive. This track features some fantastic lead work. “Mechanical Motions” is one of the heaviest tracks and one of the most aggressive. “Husk” is one of the thrashier songs on the album. It is impressive that they can keep up the intensity from track to track with these arrangements and original approaches to the riff phrasing.

“Harbingers of Cosmic Death” opens with an eerie, spacey clean tone section with driving double bass underneath. Cool ambiance. Circulate finishes with a clean tone outro that is quick and to the point. This is a unique take on technical death metal. I like that each song has its own vibe and that these guys are so locked into each other. They sound like they have been together longer than four years.

Circulate will be on my best of list at the end of the year. I am going to give this one a big two thumbs up and be recommending this one for a while. I would recommend this for fans of Ulcerate, Cult of Lilith, and Hath. Give this one a spin or two. One of the most refreshing melodic technical death metal albums in some time.

[Visit the band's website]

Written by Nick K
October 19th, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • The Headless Ghost - King Of Pain
  • Dååth - The Deceivers
  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon
  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide