Into The Night EP

Oreamnos (a kind of goat apparently?) is the new project from former partners in New York’s Weverin,  Matt Schott (also from Valdur and Sxuperion) on drums and vocals, and Sam ‘the harp’ on guitar and bass. And while I have not heard any of Weverin’s considerably obscure discography, I am somewhat familiar with the Valdur and Sxuperion side of the project, having reviewed them both, and to no one’s surprise, it is that same wheelhouse.

And by wheelhouse, it’s the similarly murky blackened death metal. Albeit a tad cleaner, slightly more riff-based and more death metal. But it’s still a cavernous affair, that I’d put in the same area as the likes of Incantation and California’s Ruin, especially Schott’s absolutely dominating (almost overbearing) vocals.

The debut EP is 4 songs, 1 intro and 1 interlude (“Bombastic Utterances”). There are a few atmospheric bridges here and there with some light, mystical effects and samples going on behind the muddy, churning riffs. The riffs, while not quite as full-on ‘ick’ as Sxuperion of Valdur, as there is a slightly cleaner production, still ooze with hefty, malevolent intentions and dense lumbers.

The likes of “Shadow of Misery”, ‘Torrid Hate”, murky, militant throb of “March Towards Oblivion” and heaving plod of “Forlorn (Fire of Despair)” won’t have you humming or whistling along, but certainly deliver a ritualistic pummeling that presents the filthier side of death metal.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
December 11th, 2020


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness