The Granite Wall

So this fall sees a couple of Matt Schott (Valdur, Sxuperion) projects drop new albums. There’s a disgusting new Cabinet EP and this project he has with his former cohort in Weverin, named Oreamnos.

I covered the prior Oreamnos release, Into the Night, and it was as I was expected considering Schott’s (who does drums and vocals here) other projects – a filthy, grimy take on oozing discordant death metal. But when the guitarist and bassist for the band Sam ‘The harp’, emailed me the promos and said they had added some HM2 groove to their sound I was skeptical.

Well, I was wrong.

Now, structurally this is still filthy, undulating death/doom, and still has Schott’s unfathomable, monstrous growls and that Cabinet/Sxuperion stench, but by god, it is indeed now rendered with a disgustingly heavy Hm2 Swedish guitar tone and also has a little more groove and rumble amid the cavernous, filthy throes.

The six lengthy songs and intro have a slightly different pace and gait than Into the Night, as if someone took Entrails, slowed them down to half speed, and mixed it with Seep or Schott’s other projects. And it’s huuuuuuuge. I mean the groove a minute into “Pendulum” is just revolting, or the “Stairs Leading to Nowhere” with its massive build and filthy Swedish canter at 3;38, and another surprisingly deft Swedish death metal gallops toward the end of “Lizard Eater” as well as the opening riff of “Granite Walls” are just sickeningly heavy.

I’m happy to be wrong on this one, Oreamnos has made a killer development to their sound and made an absolutely filthy album of death/doom with a gnarly, nasty Hm2 sound that just makes it even filthier.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
November 3rd, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal
  • Dauþuz - Uranium
  • Fluids - Reduced Capabilities
  • The Headless Ghost - King Of Pain