When it comes to the technical-brutal death metal arena, few bands can lay claim to a having a bigger influence than Origin.  Their blasting, hyperactive take on the genre is one that sends mere mortals running for cover and leave listeners and aspiring musicians constantly asking “how the hell do they pull this stuff off?”  Their previous 2 releases, Antithesis and Entity, border on tech-death masterpieces.  They’re now on their sixth full length album and are still dominant, but starting to show some kinks in their armor.

Album opener “All Things Dead” is tried and true Origin, with rousing blasts, double bass and warp speed arpeggios and sweeps filling the air, all played at breakneck speed.  Fans of the last two albums will smile with a sense of familiarity.  At just over a minute, “Thrull:Fulcrum:Apex” could almost be considered a grind song, and has to hit 1000 bpm before a tasty chug riff that’s bound to cause a stir in the pits. “Permanence” is a short instrumental break, with a sweeping guitar riff played over the drums.

The next three tracks zoom by with each one getting progressively shorter, before getting another instrumental break with the synth-backed guitars on “Continuum”.  I’ve never been a big fan of breaks like these in my tech-death, and this particular stylistic choice doesn’t change that opinion.  “Unattainable Zero” shows a nice mix of tempos, before ending with a filthy, drawn out breakdown closer that is a better break from all the chaos than both of the previous instrumentals combined.  There are more frantic tracks and another instrumental break with “Obsolescence” before the band closes out with “The Indiscriminate”.

All in all “Omnipresent” is another worthy addition to Origin’s catalog, but suffers a bit in the songwriting department.  If you don’t like the seizure inducing speed and all angles attack that Origin have nearly perfected, this one won’t make you a fan.  However, the lyrics themselves are very intelligently written and are based around humanity and its often twisted ambitions and a never-ending battle with the natural forces of earth and the universe.

The musicianship as always is top notch, with drummer John Longstreth the star of the show.  The fills, manic blasts, and flat out double bass speed he possesses will never cease to impress.  Vocalist Jason Keyser gets some help from bassist Mike Flores and guitarist Paul Ryan to form a three-pronged vocal attack that keeps things fresh in that vein.  Flores’ bass is barely audible, and this album as a whole lacks a bottom end crunch that really should be expected from a band of Origin’s stature; I had to bump up the gain on my sub before it really started to open up and add a bit more impact to the kick drums.  With bands like Omnihility and others making some moves in the underground tech-death scene, Origin needs to stay sharp as this one is very good, but not great.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Kevin E
July 23rd, 2014


  1. Commented by: E. Thomas

    As much as i appreciate the band branching out a bit, this is a step back from the last 4 albums.Omnihility out Origin’d them

  2. Commented by: KSMASH

    I like the songs i’ve heard, but some songs seem too short and others have some riffs that seemed to deviate from the overall atmosphere. I will still buy it though, i’m hoping the shorter songs add up to a complete album experience (kinda like “Informis…”). It has to be tough to top something like Antithesis, but I think Entity came close!

  3. Commented by: Overman

    Origin could play salsa music for all I care. Just like Kevin said, “how the hell do they pull this stuff off?” I have intense respect for these guys since Informis and not a single note has let me down. Short album yeah, but since they play so fast, if one quarter slower, the album would be 14 hours long. Great album!

  4. Commented by: ikillednoe

    haha they ripped off a song from blast perversion, first song is a riff from ThunderPussy !!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness