Immortal & Vile

Transcending Obscurity continues to develop, distribute, promote and release home grown talent  giving us fine bands like StrangulateBiopsyRectified Spirit Diabolus Arcanium,  and now the debut from Mumbai’s Primitiv.

The aptly named Primitiv is not doing anything new. They play a very simple form of Jungle Rot/Six Feet under mid paced chugging, death metal. Its’ got deep burly vocals,  a nice, beefy guitar tone, not dissimilar to some of the Danish stuff and a surprising amount of groove. It’s not going to change death metal or put the band on the map, but the fact this solid quality is coming out of India is a nice sign death metal is alive and well all over the globe.

The opening intro “Clash of the Gods” starts the no frills 30 minute, 7 tracks  with a impressive Chris Nolan-y, atmospheric number and then it’s pretty much a rumbling, runaway train like affair for the rest of the album. There is no blast beats, no solos, just big grooving riffs and growls. There’s almost a doom/death vibe to some the tracks too, as ‘World War Zero”, “Dead Man’s Desert”, and moody “Taurus” slow down even more to a doom crawl.

The album’s standout though is the closer, “Lords of Primitiv”, a full on Southern, stoner doom groove that could be a Lurk, Crowbar or Down song. It does not really fit in with the rest of the album’s style, coming across almost like a cover song on the end of the album, but is a fun little romp in its own right, and brings a little energy to the otherwise solid, but lethargic chug of the rest of the album.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
April 18th, 2016


  1. Commented by: vortex

    “There is no blast beats, no solos …” The video in the review has a pretty kick ass solo around the 3:00 mark. Besides that, I’m with you that this doesn’t set the death metal world on fire but this was a very satisfying album for me. Some great riffs are to be had with this album.

  2. Commented by: E. Thomas

    Ok, so a few solos.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon
  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge