Revel In Flesh
Hour of The Avenger

Germany’s and personal favorite Revel in Flesh return with their 5th long player and The Hour of the Avenger shows a more mature Revel in Flesh where they continue to allow their riffs to breathe a little longer.  I’ve been in touch with their singer, Ralf for years now and consider him a friend.  We have had a lot of in-depth conversations regarding the death metal scene, bands, fans and all in all he’s a damn good dude, who has a monstrous voice

Revel in Flesh partnered with War Anthem Records for their Relics of the Deathkult compilation last year and decided to make the complete jump to them with releasing this 5th album through the label.  For those unfamiliar with RIF, in a nutshell they play Swedish inspired death metal, but they play it better than anyone else, currently.  This particular genre is a bit oversaturated, however there are still quite a lot of great bands, such as Sentient Horror.  Throughout their entire album Revel in Flesh have shown progression.  Their earlier efforts were more brutal and featured more blast beats and as the years have gone on the band has slowed down a bit, but make no mistake RIF are firing on all cylinders once again.  The title track opens the album and is a bit more classic 90’s era death metal with the classic death thrash speed.  It’s pretty rocking and “My Trial” features some classic metal melodies.  I was able to pick out some classic 80’s metal melodies and this makes me smile ear to ear.

Above I mentioned how the band has continued to let their riffs breathe a bit more on each riff and “Blood Oath” is proof of that.  Punishing mid-paced heaviness and the riffs are catchy and most of all menacing with Ralf alternating with his deep bellows and throwing in some well-placed higher register screams.  Excellent guitar melodies during the mid-section of this 5 minute number.  That riff at the 2.26 part is truly the Holy Shit moment.  Heavier than Sherman Tank treads of death and more ferocious than when that brutal mofo snores in his sleep.  Revel in Flesh don’t really kick into the high speed ferociousness until the sixth song “Deathblow” and this song puts the pedal to the metal in terms of the speed and the rhythm section is crushing.

“Pervitin Speed Kill” afterwards brings in the blast beats, finally, I need my blasts folks and right off the jump the song goes to the jugular for a throat slam and stomp.  The song alternates between some atmospheric moments, melodic riffing and scorching blasting with mid-paced double bass moments that are truly chest collapsing.  Ralf’s vocals sounding as outstanding as ever and he throws in some cool growls as well.

Revel in Flesh return to more of the mid-paced rhythms on the next several songs all of which are great.  I will grit my teeth a bit admitting I wanted more of the brutal fast blasting parts, as they’re really are not many on this, as Revel in Flesh go for a more mid-paced and atmospheric album than past efforts.  However, there is no denying the riffs are some of the most thought out riffs and well-structured songs they have ever done.

Just like past efforts RIF close the album with a classic metal cover.  This time it’s Motörhead’s “Rock Out”.  Really a terrific effort capturing the original classic heaviness, and meshing it with the Revel in Flesh sound with the bass guitar, of course, a little higher in the mix for good measure.  Dan Swanö once again is turning the knobs with his terrific skills at Unisound Studios in Sweden.  The sound is full and captures the more mature sounding Revel in Flesh as well as brings out those melodic and atmospheric pieces so beautifully.  The song titles, album sound and song structures go perfectly with the beastly red album cover.  It’s truly ass-kicking.

So raise your blood red glasses to yet another excellent Revel in Flesh album.  Fill all those stockings this year with The Hour of the Avenger cd’s, vinyl and cassettes for your entire family.  A 2019  release not to be missed as 2020 starts  Crushing!!!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
January 6th, 2020


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu