Finnish band Saattue (meaning Procession, in their native tongue) have certainly taken their time coming upon the scene. With two independent EP releases, in 2004 and 2006, their debut album Jäähyvästi (translated as Farewell) comes 7 years after the band first formed in 2001. Thank you, Spikefarm.

Playing a tried and true form of Gothic Doom Metal, Saattue prove that patience and experience pay off in the end as this is a fantastic album. While not offering much in the way of new influences or textures (aside from all the lyrics being sung in Finnish), one can hear elements of bands like Rapture, early Paradise Lost & even hints of early Amorphis running through the music…some more prominent than others yet never truly aping any one band.

The vocals are a blend of low death growls, shouted/sung aggression and clean, somber melodies. The tones are thick and monstrous. There are spots of piano interplay and female vocals here and there, but never overdone. As was mentioned, all the lyrics are in Finnish but this does nothing to distract one’s attention from the music on offer… there’s instead a kind of sincerity and pride about it all. I much prefer a band singing in their home language as opposed to choppy English interpretations and heavily accented delivery. The album as a whole has a very stark, hopeless vibe.

Saattue are a band most worthy of attention, Doom fans and non-Doom fans alike. It’s just a very, very good album. It’s moody, it’s sad, it’s dark, it’s heavy and you want it. Trust me.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shawn Pelata
June 5th, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu