Sacrificial Blood
Souls For Sale

After a bunch of splits, a couple demos and a debut (that honestly, I have not heard) and a live album (?) Sacrificial Blood release Souls for Sale. Man, I hope they didn’t sell theirs. I feel bad for saying that, but doing what I do is oftentimes that of the executioner’s blade and I just have to say: this album is bad.

I tried, I really did. I gave it so many chances, but dammit, I just don’t like it. Which is frustrating because there is potential here. The comparisons to fellow Jersey natives Whiplash can’t be denied. This is a very meat and potatoes album, which is what made Whiplash so good and makes Souls for Sale sound so sloppy and more like a polished rehearsal demo.

Musically, these guys have their feet firmly planted in the 80’s. More the fun side of 80’s Thrash and Traditional riffing and  that is okay, but in places I heard riffs that sounded like they were cut and pasted from other bands. Namely the ending riff from opener “The Nightmare has Returned” and the riff that closes out “Hellfire“, the former sounding like an un-penned Death riff possibly from the Spiritual Healing days and the latter Metallic’s Ride the Lightning. Yeah, I know Satyricon did it, but that’s Satyricon. This is three dudes from Jersey on their second full length.

Production is alright, but I would have liked more bottom end here, there’s three members but all I hear is guitar and drums so the bass would have been cool to hear more of. You really only can pick it out on “Tyrant of Pain” if you listen for it and I know finding like minded individuals is hard but maybe a fourth member too, because the overdub on that particular track is really awkward. There are standout tracks, don’t get me wrong. “D.T.S.” is a pretty straightforward thrasher and “The Nightmare has Returned“, I think these are the ones that show the most potential for growth.

I wanted to bash this album harder, but that’s not my ultimate goal, so I’m taking the diplomatic route and just saying that I think they can do better, and maybe they will. It will be interesting to see what album three brings though.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Jeremy Beck
May 20th, 2014


  1. Commented by: AR

    I can’t say I agree with you regarding hearing the bass, seems perfectly audible on the track above. And I kinda like their ramshackle, train-about-to-derail looseness since I am sooooo tired of overly-clicky-obviously-cut n’paste high-gloss productions
    that riddle the internet metal world now. Sorta refreshing to hear a band release something that sounds like they probably do live or at rehearsal, warts and all.

    That being said; I haven’t heard the whole thing and for all I know you put the best song on here, but calling this “bad” is a touch harsh imho. Five Finger Death Punch is bad, this sounds like Kreator by comparison.

    I’ll grant you it’s not very original but it is, in its own way, pretty fierce (at least to my ears).

    Again, just my opinion.

  2. Commented by: AR

    Ok, I checked out more of their songs, not too bad (I liked “He will remain” and “Sacrificial Blood”), but I see what you meant by “sloppy”, lol. Kinda endearing but sometimes just a touch too much.

    A little work on tightening up the tunes and writing a few better riffs and these guys could make a great improvement in the future, and here’s to hoping they do!

  3. Commented by: Appollyonx

    Yeah, they are better than FFDP, for sure!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu