See You Next Tuesday

Here’s one quick question for you to determine if you should continued reading this review or click elsewhere:

Do you like The Number Twelve Looks Like You?If you answered no, go read another review. Right now. If you answered “yes” and especially enjoyed the bands debut EP Put On Your Rosy Red Glasses. Then read on.

Michigan’s See You Next Tuesday are a little redundant in their spazzy chaotic, grindy screamy noise, but they do it acceptably enough and hit all the checkmarks for fans of the genre: unreadable underground logo, quirky band name, off the wall song titles, short spazzy bursts cacophonous dissonance, breakdowns, high pitched screams and ultra deep pig squeals, lengthy experimental track, recognized producer (Andreas Magnussum-The Black Dahlia Murder, Scarlet) and a heavy touring schedule. All marks for a band that Ferret should be pushing amid their rather unimpressive slew of recent releases (Maylene & The Sons of Disaster not included).

However, at 18 minutes that comprise Parasite is over before you know it and as the band is experimenting with a slower sludgier track (“Pogonatrophy, Pt. 2: The Parasite”) the ‘album’ is over. Otherwise, the other 13 short bursts of ‘Hotopicore’, is a feral if familiar tone. From opener “Baby, You Make Me Wish I Had Three Hands”, through “Before I Die I’m Gonna Fuck Me a Fish” and “Just out of Curiosity, Are Your Parents Siblings?” the band squeals and rumbles with aplomb and relative skill, but nothing I haven’t heard before on 10,000 myspace pages. The highs are appropriately discordant, and the lows are lumbering gruntfests (such as “Here Take This Pill”), but not truly structured as normal deathcore as such.

This is the personification of what the kids are calling ‘grindcore’ these days. Fans of Ed Gein, Robinson, The Orangeburg Massacre, The Network, (or most of the Black market Activities stuff for that matter), any of the so called modern ‘grind’ bands that are amusing kids nowadays should get this. Personally, I’m a little burnt out on the stuff.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
March 20th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death